Menu
Reply
daveypec
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
464 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

We've been a customer for 25 years, over the past 6 months our router has been rebooting randomly.

Called Virgin, managed to get an upgrade from the SuperHub2 to SuperHub3, same problem. 

When operating, our Internet works fine. However, at random times, the router will kick everybody off and do an in-situ reboot (the lights flash and eventually come on again).

We've been through the gamut of troubleshooting - got a new router (same problem), removed ethernet cables etc. It turned out there was an electricity issue outside which has now been fixed.

We are at a loss as to what the issue is - I'll post details below.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated: -

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
330750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32599964
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000540256 qam25
22027500003.740256 qam9
32107500003.540256 qam10
42187500003.540256 qam11
52267500003.240256 qam12
62347500003.240256 qam13
7242750000340256 qam14
82507500003.240256 qam15
92587500003.240256 qam16
102667500003.540256 qam17
112747500003.940256 qam18
122827500004.140256 qam19
132907500004.440256 qam20
142987500004.440256 qam21
153067500004.540256 qam22
163147500004.540256 qam23
173227500004.840256 qam24
183387500004.940256 qam26
193467500004.540256 qam27
203547500004.540256 qam28
213627500004.840256 qam29
223707500005.140256 qam30
23378750000540256 qam31
243867500004.840256 qam32

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.360
2Locked40.940
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.300
8Locked40.300
9Locked40.340
10Locked40.350
11Locked40.340
12Locked40.340
13Locked40.950
14Locked40.950
15Locked40.950
16Locked40.950
17Locked40.950
18Locked40.360
19Locked40.940
20Locked40.340
21Locked40.940
22Locked40.940
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.900

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13259996435.3512064 qam3
22579999635.3512064 qam4
33940003435.3512064 qam2
44620004835.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
daveypec
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
463 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkld



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID25874
Max Traffic Rate115000000
Max Traffic Burst10000
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID23299
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

08/09/2021 16:57:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:13:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:13:31criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:13:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:09:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:08:42criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:41criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:40criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:39criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:06:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:04:49Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:04:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 12:04:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 27.07K
  • 2.74K
  • 5.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
451 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Thats a pretty much perfect set of Hub stats - someone else needs to comment on the logs.

It may just be a wifi issue. Are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What colur is the Hub's base light and is it flashing or not when these disconnects happen?

A BQM will be informative - can you do this.....
______________________________

f you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 2.04K
  • 59
  • 136
Forum Team
Forum Team
363 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Hi @daveypec,

Thank you for your posts and welcome back to our community forums. We're here to help.

I'm so sorry to hear that you've been having some reboot issues recently. Are these ongoing today? If so, have you followed the advice provided by @jbrennand yet regarding the router light and also setting up and sharing a live BQM?

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
daveypec
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
328 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Hi thank you for the reply!

The router was working fine this week and just did a reboot now.

I set up the BQM some time ago - here it is:

1e182046d8b6e0f5dc27f07ca891ed135d7fcc0c

The big red block is when we turn it off at night and the small red band is when it just rebooted.

The reboot is not a wifi problem, it's an entire reboot of the router.

When it reboots, the router's yellow light flashes for about 10 seconds and then goes off. After that, the green lights appear and it takes about 5 minutes for them to disappear and the yellow light to come back.

I don't mind the Internet cutting out, my main concern is not knowing why it's happening.

As mentioned above, the exact same behaviour was occurring with the 2.0 superhub.

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 6.34K
  • 411
  • 649
Forum Team
Forum Team
299 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Thanks for coming back to us @daveypec.

 

I have looked into your account and can see an issue on the system that would need a technician visit to resolve.

 

I can book the appointment from here but would need to confirm a few details via a private message, that I will drop over in a moment.

 

Please look out for the private message and we can get started.

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 6.34K
  • 411
  • 649
Forum Team
Forum Team
276 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Thanks for confirming your details via private message @daveypec.

 

I have arranged for the appointment and you can find all the information that you need about this on your online account by clicking My Account and Track Your Order.

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 6.34K
  • 411
  • 649
Forum Team
Forum Team
268 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

You're very welcome @daveypec and please let us know how the visit goes.

 

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
daveypec
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
228 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

Thank you for all the help and support.

The engineer came out, as promised, had a good look at the router, box (on the house), cable and the cabinet.

He found a small potential issue with the upstream but other than that it all seemed fine.

We presumed it must have been fixed because it worked again for a few days.

Unfortunately, this morning, it's rebooted again: 

1e182046d8b6e0f5dc27f07ca891ed135d7fcc0c

Big red block is where it's turned off at night and the small red block is the reboot.

0 Kudos
Reply
Gareth_L
  • 8.29K
  • 484
  • 922
Forum Team
Forum Team
217 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Random Reboots

HI daveypec

Sorry this is happening again 

Is it just this instance since or has it rebooted several times

Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply