Menu
Reply
Harrier98
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
480 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Having network cutouts

Hi Community,

I've noticed I've been having drop-outs on the network which is particularly noticable when using a mobile on VOWIFI. I decided to do an mtr trace from my Raspberry Pi (Ubuntu) and I notice several not received responses from the third hop. I am on the 1 GB service and there was little usage when I ran the mtr. The rows on the mtr are as follows:

1. Internal router (Unifi UDM-PRO)

2. VM Hub 4

3. Should be external IP but is private IP and appears to be on the VM side of the network.

4+ Outside network.

What do you think is causing these dropouts? How can I fix them or do I need to report this to VM?

Harrier98_0-1633704529509.png

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 18.61K
  • 773
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
457 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Having network cutouts

Why are you not using modem mode?

You will not see your external IP in trace

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Harrier98
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
450 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Having network cutouts

I was told that modem mode was not supported on Hub 4 at 1GB. Has this changed?

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 11.55K
  • 892
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
439 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Having network cutouts

You have never had just router mode on the Hub4, it’s always had modem mode. Works fine in modem mode with my UDM Pro. I have never ever run any VM hub in router mode.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Harrier98
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
406 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Having network cutouts

Thanks. That actually worked. When I tried it earlier this year it failed and when I called VM they told me it was not supported. Looks like it is now.

Followed the directions exactly as stated here: https://community.ui.com/questions/UDM-Pro-Virgin-Media-setup/9630d3c6-cfb9-427b-a7fc-01875e4201da

Is that you? Same name

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 11.55K
  • 892
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
393 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Having network cutouts

Yep, that was me. I read all the Ubiquiti forums every days!


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
Tudor
  • 11.55K
  • 892
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
391 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Having network cutouts

Yep, that was me. I read all the Ubiquiti forums every days! I have lots of their equipment, see below: (dates are when that release was installed)

UDM Pro 1.10.0 -    09/07/2021
         Controller 6.4.54 - 16/09/2021
         Protect 1.19.2 -        22/09/2021

2 x UAP AC Pro’s (WAPs) 5.43.46- 06/10/2021

1 x 16 Port PoE 150w switch 5.64.8 - 09/07/2021

2 x 8 Port PoE 60w switches 5.64.8 - 09/07/2021

1 x UAP-IW-HD (AP+4 Port Switch) 5.60.9 - 01/09/2021

3 x G3 cameras

1 x G3 flex camera


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply