Menu
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
476 Views
Message 41 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

I'll update next week as the connection is never a problem during evenings and weekends. 

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
438 Views
Message 42 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Awesome start to the week with a 9am unplanned mid-call hub restart:

 

My Broadband Ping - useless virgin internets in modem mode

 

I'm guessing this means that Virgin can't provide a usable internet service here?

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
430 Views
Message 43 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

This is looking worse than it was before messy engineer number 5 swapped out my RG59 cable from the fibre box to the Isolator: (I had 3 64qam channels when all this started):

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000030.5512032 qam3
23940000030.5512016 qam4
35370000030.5512016 qam2
46030000030.3512016 qam1

 

(He also managed to leave half a dozen cable clips and a couple of screws strewn about the front of the property.) 

0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P
  • 3.79K
  • 177
  • 352
Forum Team
Forum Team
422 Views
Message 44 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Apologies that the recent visit wasn't successful in resolving he issue for you 2tiredofwaiting. I have arranged for another visit from a senior technician and noted the appointment accordingly, to view when this is please visit here or log into your online account.

 

Please let us know as soon as possible if there are any individuals shielding in the property or if the appointment isn't suitable for you and we can look to reschedule it.

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
412 Views
Message 45 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Thanks for arranging engineer number 6. Any chance they'll be arriving with a reasonable history of the problems I'm having, or will I be starting from scratch again? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 6.46K
  • 268
  • 395
Forum Team
Forum Team
403 Views
Message 46 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

At this point in time the engineer visit is booked in for you. Any changes with this should be updated to you. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
399 Views
Message 47 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

I was asking if they would arrive knowing the history of the problems I've been having since the week commencing April 19th? Each of the last 4 engineers has turned up not really knowing what has been going wrong, and seemingly not with any real knowledge of what the previous engineers had done.

It's hard to understand how the problem will get resolved if there's no continuity nor communication around this. 

Or, to put it another way, it's easy to understand why the problem has yet to be resolved with no continuity around this, and I wonder if anyone else with similar issues has ever had them resolved or if they all just leave Virgin for slower more reliable options?

0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 6.46K
  • 268
  • 395
Forum Team
Forum Team
395 Views
Message 48 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

My apologies for the my confusion. 

 

The engineers would be able to call in to get any further information needed. Other than that they would have any notes that have been added to the job. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply
2tiredofwaiting
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
377 Views
Message 49 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

Had an unusual restart at midnight that has resulted in 4 slightly different upstream channels all back to 64qam:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14619993230.3512064 qam3
23940000030.3512064 qam4
36029988930512064 qam1
45370002030.3512064 qam2

 

I wonder if one of the network unicorns sprayed some magic rainbow juice and has now magically fixed whatever it was that they had left broken for so long? 

Also spent a little time flicking through the community pages yesterday and found another 5 similar sounding problems:

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Hub-3-Reboots/td-p/4733813
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Broadband-intermitten-since-30th-May/td-p/4...
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Hub-3-reboots-at-least-once-a-day/td-p/4737...
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Frequent-short-duration-disconnections-RCS-...
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Internet-constantly-dropping-in-and-out/td-...

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 258
  • 720
Community elder
375 Views
Message 50 of 103
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Hub3 restarts

SOmething could have been done by VM - my BQM goes through spiky periods and other times is pretty flat!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply