Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
394 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Broadband dropouts

Hi,

As with many of you, I have been suffering multiple dropouts over a long period of time. Many of the tips on here, deep resets, separate ASUS router, etc give a temporary improvement but it never lasts. The help desk has been disgraceful. Today I was told that there's been an area fault since the beginning of April that won't be fixed until 19th of Aug. Even if I believed it I would consider it unacceptable but sadly I've heard it all before.

Is there a solution other than changing providers? As I came to Virgin due to the BT/Yahoo fiasco what other options exist?

For info, probs exist wifi or wired,

Cheers

Phil

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9.08K
  • 702
  • 1.18K
Alessandro Volta
383 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband dropouts

It can be difficult diagnosing problems without some basic information.

 

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
375 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

Mike,

Thanks for the quick (immediate!) response. I have been running the BQM but with the switching between Virgin and ASUS as the router I'll give it 24hrs on Virgin only before posting. The service check shows OK as usual, running the test has occasionally flagged that something might be intermittent but maybe not at my end,

Cheers

Phil

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16.36K
  • 1.71K
  • 2.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
370 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband dropouts

As Mike asked - post the Hub stats... here is how...

-----.
In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right (SH2’s) or text at bottom-middle of first page up (Hub3) and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
346 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

Let's try! I think this is what you were looking for Mike/John

NOTE. Spitting and reposting due to size restrictions

Network Log

Time Priority Description

31/07/2020 14:54:36Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 14:38:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:11:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:51criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:45criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:45ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:45criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:45criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:10:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 13:09:34criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:23:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:49criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:49ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:49criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:49criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:0criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:0ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:0criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 11:22:0criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
 0

0

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
344 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

2nd set

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1326000005.1512064 qam9
2394000005.1512064 qam4
3462000005.1512064 qam3
4537000005.1512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-5.238256 qam25
2250750000-4.538256 qam15
3258750000-4.438256 qam16
4266750000-4.738256 qam17
5274750000-4.938256 qam18
6282750000-4.938256 qam19
7290750000-4.938256 qam20
8298750000-4.738256 qam21
9306750000-538256 qam22
10314750000-5.238256 qam23
11322750000-5.238256 qam24
12378750000-6.238256 qam26
13386750000-6.238256 qam27
14394750000-6.238256 qam28
15402750000-6.438256 qam29
16410750000-6.438256 qam30
17418750000-6.238256 qam31
18426750000-5.738256 qam32
19434750000-5.938256 qam33
20442750000-6.238256 qam34
21450750000-6.538256 qam35
22458750000-6.538256 qam36
23466750000-6.738256 qam37
24474750000-6.938256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9150
2Locked38.9130
3Locked38.9140
4Locked38.9190
5Locked38.6150
6Locked38.9120
7Locked38.9130
8Locked38.9110
9Locked38.9260
10Locked38.9300
11Locked38.6150
12Locked38.9200
13Locked38.9170
14Locked38.6240
15Locked38.6210
16Locked38.9200
17Locked38.9180
18Locked38.9180
19Locked38.9170
20Locked38.9240
21Locked38.6210
22Locked38.9180
23Locked38.6130
24Locked38.625 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16.36K
  • 1.71K
  • 2.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
336 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

Looks like you have power issues both up and down.

The 4 Up's are all at the top of their recommended range and all your down ones are low and about 1/2 are below the recommended minimum of -6 dBmV.

It will need a VM person to take a look and probably a VM tech visit to adjust the power levels. Either/and try calling in or wait until a VM person spots this thread and offers help. That can take a few days.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
329 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

John and Mike,

Thanks for the help. I can't face that helpdesk again as I get violent urges and losing my temper with some poor minimum wages sod is unfair! Maybe it is really due to the claimed local issues. Will wait for a VM tech on here,

Thanks again

Phil

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9.08K
  • 702
  • 1.18K
Alessandro Volta
323 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

You can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.

DO NOT bump your post, it doesn't help.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.95K
  • 178
  • 307
Forum Team
Forum Team
239 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband dropouts

Hi philjk,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and I'm sorry to see you've been experiencing broadband issues.

 

What I would advise is, that I've been able to look at the services in your local area and can see that we're currently struggling with high utilisation in the area.

 

As a result, we will need to allow the high utilisation issue to pass before we can do further work on diagnosing any issues you may have with the connection.

 

I've included the high utilisation notes below for you

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

 

Description:high utilisation site 22 watf-cmts-11-logical-cable-upstream3/2/1.0 - Status report || You might find that your Virgin Fibre, Virgin TV or TiVo® services are intermittent, with the picture freezing or disappearing now and then. We are sorry and any inconvenience caused.

 

Remedy Number:F007921155  

 

Status:Our engineer is on site and they're working to fix the problem

 

Date Open:01 APR 2020 09:14

Estimated end date:19 AUG 2020 09:00

 

We are planning to undertake some upgrades to support the increased demand for our services in your area. When completed, any slow broadband speeds and buffering on TiVo apps you may be experiencing (particularly at peak times) will be resolved.

0 Kudos
Reply