Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Do Virgin still want their customers?

My contract is due for a renewal and Virgin want to increase my payments by £30 a month despite the facts that:

a.) we have had intermittent broadband problems which have gone on for so long, that they prompt calls on the subject by telling you that the they know about it when you call

b.) there are no sports for the sports channel. 

Now we are looking to switch. My wife wants to take over the account and just keep the broadband. I am prefering Sky.

Is it any wonder people just move? 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Do Virgin still want their customers?

Hi

i may be able to assist you. 

can you private message me some details 

Here to help! I'm a manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

VM have taken decision (you can read it in corporate results announcements) that they intend to focus on "raising revenue per user", which means that they're telling customers that they aren't getting any discount, or at best a token one that's not worth being locked in for twelve months (in my view).  They are quite happy with customers leaving - last quarter they admitted that they'd lost 20,000 customers over the last year.  20,000 customers out of 5.3m is totally insignificant....except that during the same time they extended their network to pass an additional 497,600 properties.  Assuming the new network brought in 25% of the potential, then they gained about 120k new customers from signficant outlay on network extension (£350-450m), and lost 141k existing customers.  That's vastly over-simplifying the picture, but what it shows is that VM don't give a stuff about customer loyalty - senior management think we should all pay the expensive headline rate, or find another ISP.