cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VOIP service - what about non-Internet users and multiple handsets?

moggyman
Up to speed

The switch over to VM's VOIP system doesn't really bother me that much. I work in IT and can understand the pros & cons and what I'll have to do in my own home. However, my Mum is in her 80's and only has her landline, basic Freeview-equivalent TV package, and a Tivo box. It took me 18 months to train her how to use the Tivo and there's no way on God's green earth I'd let her near the Internet, even if she wanted to. She's on a State pension so any further costs on top of what's currently going on in the world are a great concern for her.

Question 1
How much is VM going to sting her in order to get a hub into her house and (as some posts I've read here suggest) are they then going to try and hike the price of her package further down the road?

Question 2
She has one phone (the main base unit including answerphone) upstairs in her bedroom and a second cordless handset downstairs. As she's frail and likely to take a fall, having multiple handsets is quite important. How is she supposed to use multiple handsets when this shiny new service is introduced? 

I guess I'll have a similar problem to Q2 because I have two handsets. The only way I can see it working is if I plug the extension phone into a powerline adapter. However, the intended RJ45 socket on the powerline adapter for that is already in use by a CCTV camera I've got plugged into it. I can work around it but it's Mum I'm concerned about. How can she still use multiple handsets?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

BenMcr
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
As part of the switchover any work required to get it set up to the customer's needs is free of charge.

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/home-phone/virginphone/switchover#tech
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own

See where this Helpful Answer was posted