Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
713 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Xbox one Connection Droo

This seems to be a constant question on here but I can’t find any answers that have worked for me so far so here I go -

In short I’ve had Virgin broadband for 2 years (vivid100  and then vivid200). 20 months of which with no problems and now my Xbox can’t hold a game without telling me I’ve lost connection.

if I’m quick and go to settings I can see I’ve briefly lost connection and then it reconnects.

My Xbox is next to my router and is hard wired - always has been.

It’s getting worse and it’s driving me mental.

do I just need a new router or a new ISP!?

any help and advice appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.02K
  • 571
  • 1.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
690 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Xbox one Connection Droo

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. If using screenshots be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.  If you copy and paste the log then the forum will automatically censor this sensitive information.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take a few days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
678 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Droo

Thanks for the reply Scott, i have deleted the IP/MAC address info as suggested thank you for this.  I am on the HUB 3 :

Downstream :

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

15230000003.238256 qam15
24590000001.938256 qam7
3467000000237256 qam8
4475000000238256 qam9
54830000002.438256 qam10
64910000002.538256 qam11
74990000002.938256 qam12
85070000002.738256 qam13
95150000003.538256 qam14
105310000003.238256 qam16
115390000003.438256 qam17
125470000003.238256 qam18
135550000003.438256 qam19
145630000003.538256 qam20
155710000002.738256 qam21
165790000003.438256 qam22
175870000003.238256 qam23
18595000000338256 qam24
196350000003.238256 qam25
206430000002.738256 qam26
216510000003.438256 qam27
226590000003.238256 qam28
23667000000337256 qam29
246750000003.538256 qam30

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.61280
2Locked38.62710
3Locked37.613125
4Locked38.61400
5Locked38.61860
6Locked38.61030
7Locked38.91250
8Locked38.63530
9Locked38.9920
10Locked38.61200
11Locked38.9790
12Locked38.9970
13Locked38.9850
14Locked38.9680
15Locked38.91220
16Locked38.61700
17Locked38.61760
18Locked38.61290
19Locked38.61070
20Locked38.62690
21Locked38.61130
22Locked38.61480
23Locked37.63250
24Locked38.9500

 

Upstream :

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999894.1512064 qam5
2537000494.15512064 qam6
3462000004.125512064 qam7
4394000344.15512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log :

Network Log

Time Priority Description

24/10/2019 08:55:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
29/10/2019 04:25:50ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
30/10/2019 05:43:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
30/10/2019 07:59:36ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
30/10/2019 11:55:54ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
31/10/2019 10:26:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
02/11/2019 12:07:7ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
03/11/2019 07:48:26ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
05/11/2019 04:40:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
14/11/2019 17:10:21ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
14/11/2019 23:32:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
15/11/2019 02:41:15ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
15/11/2019 12:12:13ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
17/11/2019 03:56:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
20/11/2019 04:23:50ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
21/11/2019 10:59:47ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
23/11/2019 02:01:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
24/11/2019 14:04:34ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
29/11/2019 12:49:10ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
689 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

FYI i have also restored the hub3 to the default settings today - i have updated my passwords to my private ones and added the Xboxes mac address as reserved but all port forwarding and filtering alterations that had be made from previous fix suggestions have been removed, they didn't work anyway but the reserved mac has def helped a little.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.02K
  • 571
  • 1.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
676 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

The figures posted look OK.  Downstream channel 3 has a few Post RS errors which might indicate an issue if they were to increase rapidly over a short period of time, but they may just be historical errors.

Have you tried the hub in modem mode with just the Xbox connected?  Just as a test to see if the router part of the hub is at fault here.

Also might be worth trying a different Ethernet cable to rule that out.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
664 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

I’ve never considered putting the router into modem mode as I don’t have an alternative router to use....but are you saying I don’t need one?

ive just tried the Xbox now and it dropped out after around 6 mins of play.

 

i do have alternative cables and will try that now.

 

thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
663 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

I’ve just been to get a cable and found and old BT home Hub 4.0!

 

Scott, are you able to give me a quick guide to how this needs wiring? Is it as simple as putting the virgin hub 3 into modem mode and then running an Ethernet cable to the bt home hub? Or so I then need to configure the home hub?!? 

im trying another game with the new Ethernet cable now....

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.02K
  • 571
  • 1.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
660 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

In order to use the hub in modem mode with more than one device you would require another router, but in order to troubleshoot your issue I would suggest a test first in modem mode with just the Xbox to see if that helps.  If it doesn't help then that rules out the Hub 3's often flaky routing as the cause of your issue.

If it does help then you would need to connect another router to the hub in modem mode to be able to use wireless and extra wired devices again.

I can't comment on the BT Home Hub as I don't have one and I don't know if you can switch off the ADSL modem functions and just use it as a wireless router.  At this stage best not to complicate things with additional hardware.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
650 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

Ok makes sense.

So if I just put the router into modem mode and have the Xbox as the only hard wired item and see what happens.

ill try that tomorrow.

 

thanks scott

Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
524 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Xbox one Connection Drop out

So far modem mode and the new cable seem to have solved the problem.

i have exited modem mode and trying the new cable only - I am hard wired anyway so I’m wondering if the new cable has some how helped on it’s own.

sorry mr virgin media  you were def getting the blame for what at the moment seems like a cable issue!

Thanks to Scott again for your help so far I’ll try the original wired set up for a worth few days/a week and report back! i know plenty of people have had this issue.

 

0 Kudos
Reply