Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
970 Views
Message 1 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Huge Latency

Hello

Before I begin I just want to confirm that the issue I have been experiencing predates COVID-19 so it isn't purely down to increased online traffic.

Since around October last year I have suffered huge increases in latency whilst gaming, I have spoken to virgin both on the phone and on twitter and all they have been willing to do is say its not on their end and sent me a new hub which did not fix the problem. My download and upload speeds are fine the majority of the time,  it is the latency that is killer, when I am getting similar ping to EU servers as to North America then you know something is wrong. 

I have had a broadband monitor set up for a few days and would love some assistance on  figuring out what is wrong. I will post the graphs, please let me know anything else I can provide to solve this, it has been the bane of my life for too long! 

Ben

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
914 Views
Message 3 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

Have you found answers, or still left in the dark. Same problem here.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 85
  • 10
  • 20
Forum Team
Forum Team
902 Views
Message 4 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

Hi,

Can you post you router network status please for downstream and upstream by going into your routers settings also check all connections are tight so that includes at the back of the equipment, the entry points and inside the omni box (brown or white box) that is usually located on the front of the house.

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 28
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
895 Views
Message 5 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

No Answers yet 😞

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
894 Views
Message 6 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

i'll report back when its all done. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
840 Views
Message 7 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

Ok so on the status section it says this: 

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300036
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

for downstream we have: 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000-1.240256 qam25
2170750000-0.538256 qam5
3178750000-0.440256 qam6
4186750000-0.240256 qam7
5194750000-0.240256 qam8
6202750000-0.540256 qam9
7210750000-0.440256 qam10
8218750000-0.540256 qam11
9226750000-0.540256 qam12
10234750000-0.440256 qam13
11242750000-0.540256 qam14
12250750000-0.440256 qam15
13258750000040256 qam16
142667500000.240256 qam17
152747500000.440256 qam18
162827500000.740256 qam19
172907500000.740256 qam20
182987500001.240256 qam21
193067500001.240256 qam22
203147500001.240256 qam23
213227500001.240256 qam24
22410750000-1.540256 qam26
23418750000-0.238256 qam27
244267500005.538256 qam28



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.32990
2Locked38.97330
3Locked40.311482
4Locked40.36210
5Locked40.96280
6Locked40.96150
7Locked40.36240
8Locked40.96520
9Locked40.36770
10Locked40.36710
11Locked40.36120
12Locked40.36170
13Locked40.35430
14Locked40.95200
15Locked40.94920
16Locked40.94660
17Locked40.35290
18Locked40.34450
19Locked40.33810
20Locked40.34140
21Locked40.93920
22Locked40.34220
23Locked38.964863
24Locked38.677935

 

For upstream we have: 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000364.225512064 qam1
2394000004.425512064 qam4
3462000124.475512064 qam3
4537000414.425512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

The box outside was unlocked, which I thought was odd but I checked inside it. Bare in mind I live in a flat so there were many different properties wiring inside, I couldn't find my flat number inside the maze. It didn't look like anything was obviously loose or damaged but I couldn't really tell. I didn't know how safe it is for me to snoop around the box with so much wiring inside of it so I didn't touch too much, I took photos but I don't know whether it would help to post them or not? The cabling entrance to my flat is definitely loose, as in the wire coming out of the wall can be moved up and down inside its box in a very rattly way but I believe its always been this way even when I didn't have any latency issues. 

The wiring on the hub itself is perfect, no issues at all. 

If there is anything else I can provide, throw it at me and I do appreciate your help 🙂 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
786 Views
Message 8 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

Phil_C1

Just flagging this thread for your attention.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 126
  • 0
  • 12
Dialled in
766 Views
Message 9 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

It's mostly likely down to VM over subscribing in your area. 

I started to get the odd days of lag spikes back in August and from December it has been every day between 6pm-10pm.

The offshore call centres were useless and said it was my PS4 so they tried to force Gadget Rescue on to my bill and those guys were also useless.

After 10 days of me posting BQMs and saying there is too many people connected in my area, which was confirmed when it gotten worse with everyone at home, they finally admit there is a fault here but couldn't give me any date that this will be fixed. 

I have spoken to another VM customer on reddit who apparently has a technician in his area tomorrow 31/03 to fix his.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.76K
  • 70
  • 112
Forum Team
Forum Team
736 Views
Message 10 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Huge Latency

HI Dansinator, thanks for the message. Are you still having issues with the service and what results did you get with the broadband monitor. ^Chris 

0 Kudos
Reply