Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Sending email using your own domain

I have my own domain name, let’s call it Fred.com. It’s hosted by Freeparking.co.uk but I only use their mail forwarding service so anything send to fred.com comes to me. 

In my smtp settings, I have all the blue yonder settings except the email address (the one shown to the receiver) is john@fred.com. 

Ive been having loads of bounces and rejections or email not being received so I’m having to send via my gmail account. 

I send email primarily through my iPhone and iPad but also through a laptop and Mac occasionally. 

What is it I need to do in order to get this working again? I’ve found a thread that mentions how to set this up but I’m not understanding it and I work in IT.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Email/Sending-email-using-your-own-domain/m-p/3716147#M157860

I’d be grateful for any help  

thanks 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 3
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sending email using your own domain

It helps to know what error messages you are getting.  You can post them on here and mask out any personal information such as full email address.

With regards to my post what part do you not understand?

To clarify what SPF is - imagine 3 people Bob Alice and Fred.

Bob normally passes any messages he has to send via Alice, so he puts the word out that only messages arriving via Alice should be treated as genuine.  Thus when Fred receives a message from Alice claiming to have been sent by Bob then he accepts it as genuine.

One day a 4th person called Mark tried delivering Fred a message claiming to be from Bob, Fred checks and sees that only Alice should be delivering Bob's mail so Fred either rejects the message outright or is very careful about trusting the message.