Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Increase in Spam but in main mailbox

For some reason the past couple of weeks has seen a marked increase in blindingly obvious Spam getting straight into my main inbox. Every message has been directed into my Spam box and the sender blocked but still I get regular messages with very similar email addresses......why is the spam filtering not working and how can it be tightened up?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increase in Spam but in main mailbox

Have you set up spam filters? 

Marking an email as SPAM or NOT SPAM in Virgin Media Mail will move that email to the relevant folder, but doesn't maintain that choice for future messages for that sender.

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Super solver
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

@rich40w wrote:

For some reason the past couple of weeks has seen a marked increase in blindingly obvious Spam getting straight into my main inbox.

The first thing to check is that the spam settings in your VM Webmail account are still set to "Move message to spam folder"

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-mail-email-spam-settings 

They almost certainly are but it would be as well to make sure. 😉

Every message has been directed into my Spam box and the sender blocked but still I get regular messages with very similar email addresses

As you have discovered the blocked sender option simply will not work with spam. Spammers regularly switch to using  "very similar" email addresses specifically to defeat them. Marking the emails as spam should in theory train the VM spam filter but I am not sure anyone has ever seen evidence of that.

why is the spam filtering not working

Er.......because it's not very good? Sorry, I'm not being sarcastic just saying how it is.

and how can it be tightened up?