Menu
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
530 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

tv self install

Hi, I have broadband installed and working in my bedroom, if I upgrade to tv and receive the self install kit, would the kit include the required splitter so I can install the tv, I only have the cable going from the wall socket to the hub, so would need the splitter to be able to connect the tv and the broadband to the wall socket 

0 Kudos
Reply
campo7
  • 581
  • 111
  • 122
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
524 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

Hi

Yes you would receive a splitter. 

would you like me to arrange a callback to get you a quote? 

just PM a name and contact number and I will arrange this. 


Here to help! I'm a manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
512 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

the problem is I want 3 boxes but 2 are downstairs and would need an engineer install only the box going in bedroom can be self installed, could I do the following,

self install - tv box upstairs (same room as already installed hub) would need splitter and extra cables

engineer install - 1 in living room and 1 in room next to living room, hole already in wall between the 2 rooms

0 Kudos
Reply
Eeeps
  • 753
  • 47
  • 118
Rising star
494 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install


@PAULRYAN53 wrote:

the problem is I want 3 boxes but 2 are downstairs and would need an engineer install only the box going in bedroom can be self installed, could I do the following,

self install - tv box upstairs (same room as already installed hub) would need splitter and extra cables

engineer install - 1 in living room and 1 in room next to living room, hole already in wall between the 2 rooms


Sound doable.

Things to note are that each splitter puts a loss of 3-4dB in signal level for a two way splitter.
For a single split (one V6) then you may find your levels from the cabinet are high enough.
To check, have a look at your downstream levels on your hub as it is now. Post here.

For the downstairs boxes would the cable be routed outside? Where does the cable come to the property (i.e. where is the 'brown box')?

Also note that each V6 requires an good Internet connection via the HUB. Wireless is possible but an Ethernet cable is best.

0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
488 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 371000000 3 40 256 qam 28
2 251000000 2.2 40 256 qam 15
3 259000000 2 38 256 qam 16
4 267000000 2.4 40 256 qam 17
5 275000000 2.7 40 256 qam 18
6 283000000 2.7 40 256 qam 19
7 291000000 2.7 40 256 qam 20
8 299000000 2.9 38 256 qam 21
9 307000000 3 40 256 qam 22
10 315000000 3.2 40 256 qam 23
11 323000000 3.2 40 256 qam 24
12 347000000 3.2 40 256 qam 25
13 355000000 3.4 40 256 qam 26
14 363000000 3.2 40 256 qam 27
15 379000000 2.9 38 256 qam 29
16 387000000 2.9 38 256 qam 30
17 395000000 2.7 40 256 qam 31
18 403000000 2.4 38 256 qam 32
19 411000000 1.9 38 256 qam 33
20 419000000 1.7 38 256 qam 34
21 427000000 1.5 38 256 qam 35
22 435000000 1.7 38 256 qam 36
23 443000000 1.5 38 256 qam 37
24 451000000 1.4 38 256 qam 38


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 5344 415
2 Locked 40.3 1205 418
3 Locked 38.9 1433 433
4 Locked 40.3 1012 416
5 Locked 40.3 1208 448
6 Locked 40.3 1784 448
7 Locked 40.3 2887 440
8 Locked 38.9 2885 421
9 Locked 40.3 3383 449
10 Locked 40.3 3930 419
11 Locked 40.3 4446 458
12 Locked 40.3 3495 445
13 Locked 40.3 3549 445
14 Locked 40.3 4389 419
15 Locked 38.9 6719 419
16 Locked 38.9 7851 619
17 Locked 40.3 8419 437
18 Locked 38.9 9912 417
19 Locked 38.9 13303 419
20 Locked 38.9 14858 415
21 Locked 38.6 14292 420
22 Locked 38.6 23348 394414
23 Locked 38.9 15955 416
24 Locked 38.6 18555 418

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393999983.975512064 qam4
2325999863.975512064 qam5
3462000363.975512064 qam3
4536999983.975512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
484 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

the brown box is on the outside of the living room wall but the internal wall socket got removed when renovation of the living room was done

0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
456 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

would the engineer be able to do the 2 boxes downstairs on the same day, or could they install the internal wall socket and living room box one day  and come back another day and run a cable into the next room and install the second box

0 Kudos
Reply
Eeeps
  • 753
  • 47
  • 118
Rising star
403 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install


@PAULRYAN53 wrote:

the brown box is on the outside of the living room wall but the internal wall socket got removed when renovation of the living room was done


Your SH stats suggest that the self install of the V6 in the bedroom would be fine; especially if you can connect it to the SH by Ethernet cable.
Another question. Do you have an attenuator fitted to the cable going to the SH (looks like a small oblong inline block)?

Question about your current cabling; did VM re-route the entry point from the brown box with an external cable to a new wall socket in the bedroom?

For the engineer install down stairs I'm guessing this can come directly from the brown box with a splitter.
In my case the engineer fitted a splitter in the brown box with a cable that goes outside the house to the bedroom where it goes via an inline isolator to the V6 there.
Down stairs the other leg of the splitter goes to a wall box housing an isolator and from there to a second splitter that feeds the SH3 and lounge V6.

In your case I'm not sure if VM provide 3 or 4 way splitters. When the additional V6s are added the engineer will need to visit your street side cabinet to increase your signal level

0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
387 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install


@Eeeps wrote:

@PAULRYAN53 wrote:

the brown box is on the outside of the living room wall but the internal wall socket got removed when renovation of the living room was done


Your SH stats suggest that the self install of the V6 in the bedroom would be fine; especially if you can connect it to the SH by Ethernet cable. ethernet would be able to connect to my router (SH is in modern mode)
Another question. Do you have an attenuator fitted to the cable going to the SH (looks like a small oblong inline block)? Don't think so

Question about your current cabling; did VM re-route the entry point from the brown box with an external cable to a new wall socket in the bedroom? sorry I don't know

For the engineer install down stairs I'm guessing this can come directly from the brown box with a splitter. Should be possible 
In my case the engineer fitted a splitter in the brown box with a cable that goes outside the house to the bedroom where it goes via an inline isolator to the V6 there.
Down stairs the other leg of the splitter goes to a wall box housing an isolator and from there to a second splitter that feeds the SH3 and lounge V6. I'm thinking cable from brown box to living room into splitter then 1 cable to v6 box and another cable to the next room

In your case I'm not sure if VM provide 3 or 4 way splitters. When the additional V6s are added the engineer will need to visit your street side cabinet to increase your signal level is this still possible with the current situation 


 

0 Kudos
Reply
PAULRYAN53
  • 62
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
340 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: tv self install

sent you a pm today it's urgent so please reply
0 Kudos
Reply