Menu
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
sammi2019
Joining in
220 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Wall mount v6 Box vertically

Hi is it possible to mount the V6 box vertically using the Q-View bracket (as photo)Image-34.jpg from Amazon?

We just want to hide all cables from view and have already plastered/decorated the room

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.46K
  • 760
  • 3.33K
Superuser
Superuser
191 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

No technical reason it wont work. I mean its a bracket, you screw it to a wall and the V6 fits in it....

BUT

Ive never understood these sorts of brackets.

Given that the V6 requires 3 cables- power,network and coax you've now got 3 cables going up your wall instead of 1 HDMI.

thats not an aesthetic improvement in my book....


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
sammi2019
Joining in
181 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

hi many thanks for the reply.

We've not had the Virgin V6 Box installed just yet, so was hoping to have installed behind the TV (we already have a power socket), so would leave coaxial cable installed behind TV and HDMI from box to TV (so hopefully no cables visible)

Can you have the box on Wifi (the hub would be in the same room)?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.87K
  • 815
  • 1.22K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
177 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

The V6 needs connecting to the VM network point where it enters your house - via coax cable. So how will that be hidden - unless that point is already behind the TV?
The V6 works best when connected by Cat6 cable to the Hub if the Hub is elsewhere I dont think wifi connection to the Hub will be great behind the tv but worth a try I guess. Check with a wifi scanning App what the signal is like behind the tv - works best on the 5 GHz band too.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
sammi2019
Joining in
168 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

Hi, yes good point regarding connecting to the Network (that's why I'm asking as a total newbie)

Is it possible to connect to the VM Network then go back outside and back in behind the TV?

we really want to hide all the cables and are running out of ideas (my partner has OCD regarding cables etc..), and if we can't find a solution then it looks like we won't be getting the TV Package :-(

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 61
  • 3
  • 11
BatletUK
Dialled in
165 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

Just a thought, the hard drive is in the bottom of the V6, and there is a vent panel in the base. The designers of the "clip" have no doubt considered this, but if it blocks this vent, then it is worth bearing in mind..

Edit: worth bearing in mind also, that the V6 remote is RF,  can you hide it in a cupboard or similar and run a single HDMI to the TV?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
sammi2019
Joining in
155 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

Hi yes we considered running just the HDMI cable from V6 to TV, but partner doesn't like that option as it would be a HDMI cable right across the room and would look very untidy although very practical

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.87K
  • 815
  • 1.22K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
154 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically


@sammi2019 wrote:

(my partner has OCD regarding cables etc..), and if we can't find a solution then it looks like we won't be getting the TV Package :-(

If you can stand the hassle....  I would rout out a channel in the new plasterwork and install a plastic duct open at top and bottom for running all the cables you might ever need now and in the future - VM ones, Sky ones, HDMI's from DVD/BluRays, sound systems,  etc...   Then skim it over and redecorate.

Or just change partners Smiley Happy


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
sammi2019
Joining in
147 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically


If you can stand the hassle....  I would rout out a channel in the new plasterwork and install a plastic duct open at top and bottom for running all the cables you might ever need now and in the future - VM ones, Sky ones, HDMI's from DVD/BluRays, sound systems,  etc...   Then skim it over and redecorate.

I'm totally regretting not doing this before we had plastered and decorated, very frustrating :-(

Is there a number I can call to speak to an installation specialist?


 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 61
  • 3
  • 11
BatletUK
Dialled in
144 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wall mount v6 Box vertically

Ah, fair enough. I have a 32mm plastic pipe buried in the wall behind the tv which carries several cables - for much the same reason Smiley Happy

My friend, faced with a similar issue installed a floor to ceiling false panel and mounted the TV on that with all the cables behind the panel. A bit of an impractical suggestion for most people, but that said it does look the part.

If you don't require 4K, it is possible to do 1080p over Cat5e (with a pair of converters) - potentially you could run the Cat5e straight outside then return it somewhere convenient. There is also the possibility of Wireless HDMI - although I believe these are also limited to a maximum of 1080p and they are quite expensive.

 

0 Kudos
Reply