Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.51K
  • 48
  • 336
deans6571
Problem sorter
1,295 Views
Message 511 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@Roger_Gooner wrote:

My V6 info, software version 20.9.1.RC2-VMB-11-C68.

20190527_122408_20.jpg

 


.....my V6 shows 20.8.1.RC11-VMB-11-C68. 

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 178
  • 0
  • 33
Gmjh
Superfast
1,295 Views
Message 512 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings

People are saying the exact opposite. The tv can't upscale to 2160p on 1080p content because the V6 shows all 1080p at 2160p.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 321
  • 5
  • 66
crypticc
Fibre optic
1,244 Views
Message 513 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings



2020 Tivo-scaling bug (nearly resolved)

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.51K
  • 48
  • 336
deans6571
Problem sorter
1,221 Views
Message 514 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 956
  • 23
  • 141
shawty1984
Rising star
1,202 Views
Message 515 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.51K
  • 48
  • 336
deans6571
Problem sorter
1,194 Views
Message 516 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


.....I wouldn't, I was merely just asking the question of what would happen if you just select the 1080 option in the V6 settings??!

Stop jumping down my throat everytime I comment on this thread.....

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 178
  • 0
  • 33
Gmjh
Superfast
1,187 Views
Message 517 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


I don't know why a lot of these recent comments are being made. The whole thread, for years, has been saying the V6 does not give a 1080p picture to allow the superior  TV scaling to 2160p. Its like the years of comments just don't exist and the thread was started three days ago. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 956
  • 23
  • 141
shawty1984
Rising star
1,146 Views
Message 518 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


.....I wouldn't, I was merely just asking the question of what would happen if you just select the 1080 option in the V6 settings??!

Stop jumping down my throat everytime I comment on this thread.....


I wasn't jumping down your throat, I was asking a simple question. You quoted someone who said "But then you don't get UHD" to which your reply was "the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?" I was simply asking why you'd want a 4k image to be downscaled to 1080p then for it to be upscaled to 4k.

Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Nando010
Joining in
125 Views
Message 519 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings

Can someone please help. I have just come over from sky two weeks and now have the v6. if I watch Netflix Dolby vision and HDR content, Bt sport 4k, normal HD content and the kids watch the Disney Channel which is SD and a terrible picture as they don't do it in HD in 2020, which output setting should be ticked if I want the tv to upscale. I have an Oled C8 65 if that makes any difference.

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.7K
  • 244
  • 612
ozsat
Community elder
100 Views
Message 520 of 543
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings

If you hav e a 4K tv - best ticked settings are all three of  2160,  2160passthru  and 1080p.


@Nando010 wrote:

Can someone please help. I have just come over from sky two weeks and now have the v6. if I watch Netflix Dolby vision and HDR content, Bt sport 4k, normal HD content and the kids watch the Disney Channel which is SD and a terrible picture as they don't do it in HD in 2020, which output setting should be ticked if I want the tv to upscale. I have an Oled C8 65 if that makes any difference.

Any help would be appreciated.


 

==================================
V6 TiVo (with MRS & UHD/HDR)
VIVID 500 (500/35mb) in Area 31
SkyQ Silver Bundle (UHD + 2 minis)
0 Kudos
Reply