Menu
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
251 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

V6 keeps shutting off

As title says, recently the tivo (6 I think, the 4k one) has started turning off.

 

Sometimes a standby cycle will bring it back on for a short time but more often than not,  I have to power off via rear switch leave it for a bit and back on. This doesn't guarantee a result. 

 

I've a feeling it could be heat related. First time it happened, during the Welcome Screen/Starting up period I was getting strange artifacts like a green wired grid for a brief moment. Given current climate here not an impossibility. 

Thought I'd get this in incase further assistance will be required down the line.

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 12.31K
  • 1.7K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
239 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

You can check which box you have, on this page here 

Regardless of heat, if a box is switching itself off and/or rebooting, it has a fault. The tinted pictures you mention could also be an HDMI issue - have you proven your HDMI cable & TV port as good by using them with known working kit?

VM staff respond to posts on here after an extra day or so, otherwise fault reporting is on the usual number (150 from a VM phone, 0345 4541111 from any other phone)

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
234 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

It's the V6 I'll run a check on leads, etc. Although have no reason to think is them or the TV. TV is only a few months old.

 

I've got to get round to changing over current stand so now will be chance to do so. Kill 2 birds with one stone.

0 Kudos
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
222 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Update.

It just occurred to me that I have a brand new hdmi that came with recent monitor purchase. I've swapped them out and at moment, I have tv services back.

However, before cable change, I run test on website and it detected box wasn't connected. The box was on at time of test and I swapped hdmi while still on.

Will see how it goes.

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 4.45K
  • 259
  • 421
Forum Team
Forum Team
159 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Welcome back to the forums @aidy1972 

 

Thank you for your post.  

 

I have managed to locate your account from hear and can see that there is an issues, we are going to need to get an engineer out to you. 

 

I will pop you over a PM so that I can some account details.

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
129 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Hi Zak.

 

Thanks for getting back, I rarely look at VM emails these days as it has become a spam hell!

I have an engineer coming today (25/7/21) apparently following a webchat via site. External box aside (see another post of mine) the cables in the house are very early installations back when NTL first offered "Broadband" (was silly low speeds back then!) Probably close to 20 years now! At time of install, my room had just been moved into so requested enough cable for multiple modem positions. 

Now established, there's a huge coil of cabling literally hanging off the back of modem and the cable has become worn at modem screw in. Often dropping drastically in speed, sometimes blackout. A bit of a wiggly can bring speeds back to expected.

 

I can't seem to find your message, so leaving this for you. Maybe others having similar troubles too.

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 1.46K
  • 51
  • 139
Forum Team
Forum Team
117 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Hi @aidy1972

 

Thanks for the update and I am glad to hear you have a Engineer coming today to look at the issue with the external brown box I'm assuming?

 

In regards to the fault with the V6 box, is this still ongoing?

 

Let us know.  

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
113 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Tivo seems to be fine now I have swapped the hdmi lead. Visit was SUPPOSED to be sorting out cables in the house and that box (currently propped closed with a large rock - not sure if someone here did that or someone from VM have been already, been told nothing about actual Visit purpose and not even called ahead or knocked door.

 

I'm going to assume a Visit has not actually been arranged for today. 1: given its a Sunday and 2, it's now 2hrs past time slot given.

VM will be getting a call from me tomorrow either way.

If late, courtesy call would be nice. If not coming, likewise. My faith in people is telling me it was a typo. My faith in VM is telling me it was a fob off to get a customer satisfaction rating up.

Anyway you could check if something is ACTUALLY booked? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 1.46K
  • 51
  • 139
Forum Team
Forum Team
109 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

Thanks for explaining further and pleased the TV box is performing okay now after swapping the HDMI lead. 

 

I have just taken a peek at your account and can not see any open work order for a visit @aidy1972 nor any notes on your account regarding what you have just explained. 

 

How and when exactly were you advised this was going to be scheduled for today? 

 

 

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
aidy1972
  • 99
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
93 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 keeps shutting off

It was via the webchat on the VM website

0 Kudos
Reply