Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 2
Flag for a moderator

Tivo V6 box issues + Fibre optic interruptions

Hi, as many in this forum, I'm new to Virgin Media TV and broadband (joined 3 weeks ago) and have had continuous issues with both services. Tivo v6 box shows no signal 2 to 3 times a day and sometimes works again when box is rebooted but lately it remains rebooting for 1h+ with no signal so i switch to watching tv online... and then the following morning when i don't need to watch it i discover the box is working again.. on another 2 occasions the box restarted itself after the screen froze, then took forever to restart again (i had to switch on/off 3 times and unplug replug all cables).

I never managed to watch a single PL game on weekends without box restarting or freezing or simply no signal on tv so i give up and switch to digital.

For the fibre optic i have the max advertised 500mb but never managed to measure more than 150mb when am lucky. In my office 2 floors up i have a v slow 10 to 50mb, clearly far far from the service sold. On top of that fibre optic connection drops about  7 to 10 times a day and k have to disconnect and connect back again the wifi from my laptop to have it work again.

As im fully working from home these days, it's v annoying to see my work desktop remote connection lost 10 times a day.

Clearly not happy at all with my oomf package so far. 

Can anyone pls help on what the issues could be ?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 2
Flag for a moderator

Re: Tivo V6 box issues + Fibre optic interruptions

If your box is freezing and restarting of its own accord, that's either its way of trying to manage (potentially) a signal fault - or a fault of itself. Ordinarily I would suggest posting your broadband speed issues in the appropriate section of the board here , but it sounds like you might have a poor incoming signal that's manifesting itself on the TV & broadband in separate ways.