Menu
Reply
JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,385 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

STV Player and Netflix Apps

Hello, 

I have an on going issue where my Netflix and STV player app will load and sign in but as soon as I choose a program to watch I get a circular wait before the app times out and says reconnecting

i have tried rebooting the V6 box, signing out or apps and signing back in. This works for a short time but then I’m back with apps not working. Getting a little annoying 

 

any suggestions 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 18.26K
  • 2.36K
  • 4.18K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,367 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Does this same problem occur with any other streaming apps, or OnDemand programmes?

If those services work, then that's your V6's internet connection proven and it's potentially an issue with those specific apps.

Try finding a programme from the TV Guide, and press "OK" to "watch from CatchUp" and see if that works ok.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,344 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Thank you for replying


On other streaming devices the apps work fine with no issue.

I have done numerous checks on internet connection and V6 reported no problems. Other apps such as iPlayer and YouTube have only ever experienced this problem once that I can remember.

In will try your suggestion on catch up. When I am home

I was wondering if maybe an update had happened and app hadn't been updated correctly. If so can you delete the app and updated it ?

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 18.26K
  • 2.36K
  • 4.18K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,322 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

What are these "numerous checks" that you've done? Is it the TV Speed test via the V6 menus - that's the only test I'd think is going to prove anything here.

Apps are provided by the individual broadcaster, your V6 box just provides the connectivity to it. If Netflix or STV have changed anything, you'd have to ask them - but it's not an update that would need installing in the way it does on a phone or tablet.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,297 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Hi, all apps work fine on my Roku stick, iPads, iPhones it’s only the V6 box they don’t work in. I get a message saying connection issue and time out. 
The test I have done are the built in tests on the V6 box,, connect to media service, network status, network diagnostics. All test passed 
The speed test comes back suitable for TV

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,294 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Hi catch up is working fine. It’s when I go into the app and it’s a non catch up does everything stop and it says connection issue. With Netflix I get as far as choose person then it too times out. 

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 18.26K
  • 2.36K
  • 4.18K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,292 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

This does sound like an app-specific issue, but there's ways you can prove it.

You've proven that OnDemand works by watching a programme from (non-BBC) CatchUp?

Try the same with a BBC programme - this uses the iPlayer app. Does that work?

Can you also try using the ITV, C4 or C5 branded apps - how do they behave?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 7.9K
  • 518
  • 1.49K
Alessandro Volta
1,274 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Is the V6 connected to the hub with an Ethernet cable? If not do so and see if it makes a difference.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,265 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Hi, yes it is connected via an Ethernet cable

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnnyB1968
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
1,263 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: STV Player and Netflix Apps

Yes it is connected via Ethernet cable

0 Kudos
Reply