Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 32
Flag for a moderator

No picture but sound and menus

Hi

I've had a V6 box for a couple of months now with no problem.  About a week or so ago almost every time I turn the TV on I have a black screen.  The sound is there, and the virgin menus and guides work fine, just no video.

Obviously my wife thinks this is my fault as I work in IT!

Pressing the standby button on the front of the box then turning it straight back on fixes the problem.

I leave the V6 on all the time.  Only turning the TV off.

It's plugged straight into my 4k Sony TV to HDMI 1.

I'm assuming this is a firmware update issues as has been working fine.  I also see this problem, or a similar one has been around for a year or more looking at other threads.

Was this caused by a firmware update issue?  Is it being looked at?

Thanks

Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: No picture but sound and menus

The new version of the firmware is being trialled already.

When it is officially released you will find out what fixes have been implemented.

Virgin BB TV Landline. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile. Cable customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 32
Flag for a moderator

I have seen this issue once recently.

When this happens again, can you please check which Video Output Formats are shown in:

Home > Help & Settings > Settings > Video Output > Video Output Format

In my case, all output formats, except one, were showing as not supported. I had to reset to resolve the problem so it may not be the same as yours.

I can’t comment on whether you have had a firmware update recently as I’m not on a production level.

Can you confirm which level you are on?