Menu
Jon68
Tuning in
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

New customer problems

Good morning all. Well, after being a customer of sky for well over 20 years I thought I'd give virgin a try

Negotiated a deal with a local salesman for a decent package deal, and had it installed last week (22/12)

I work nights and was in bed when the engineer installed it. 

Came down to discover its the v6 not the 360 as promised

So I messaged the rep. There's a shortage of boxes and we will swap you ASAP 

OK I'm not over the moon but I'll manage 

TV seemed fine although almost zero 4k content compared to sky q uhd

Then I tried catch up... No service try again in a few minutes 

The same for on demand, apps, help, etc 

I'm a truck driver not an I t expert but I've been having a look at the various diagnostics it let's you try, the codes are various but mainly v201.

And in port tests it says various codes are faulty 

I've spoken to customer services this morning (not the easiest to understand if I'm being honest and very quietly spoken).

I think he was telling me to give it 48hrs and someone will be in touch?

Not a very good start I've got to say, although the internet is blisteringly quick.

Fingers crossed it gets sorted soon or virgin may be getting it all back 

0 Kudos
japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New customer problems

Firstly, everyone's experience and opinion will differ here - but for my money, I'd choose a V6 over a V360 any day for the moment. In time, that'll change I'm sure - but for now 😉

Forget the port codes test, that often fails on perfectly working systems (mine included)

Your V6 connects to the internet via your VM homehub, and everything you describe seems symptomatic of the box not having an internet connection. How do you think your V6 connects to your homehub - is it using Ethernet or WiFi?