Menu
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
1,531 Views
Message 1 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Multiple recordings issue

After raising a complaint about  my ongoing multiple recordings issue. Virgin media engineers spent 7 weeks ish fixing various errors on my account which were contributing to my ongoing multiple recordings issue aswell as having various tickets raised to get their IT team to  look into the issue aswell. I'm assuming the errors were fixed with updates 🤔. I've now finally been advised theres a known error in the v6 box software. Which is causing my multiple recordings. The tivo guy said the error will be fixed soon. What do you call soon 🤔. Virgin have known about my issue since January. As I had an engineer out. Who swapped my box for a brand new one. Which didn't resolve the issue 😟. The engineers have now fixed all my account and network errors and faults. I'm just waiting for the software error fix. Then I'm sorted. I'm in area code 21.

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 17.25K
  • 2.25K
  • 3.97K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,523 Views
Message 2 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

I know you had a few issues going back a few months with your wishlists - and I seem to recall the end result was that you were falling foul of a "feature" in the TiVo software that is unlikely to be rectified.

What was the apparent "known issue" that you've been told about? The vast majority of software builds on many devices - have known issues to some degree.

TiVo software is - for the most part - extremely stable and quite mature, and VM's primary development focus is now on the 360 platform.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
1,512 Views
Message 3 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

Hi japitts

The tivo specialist advised me theres an known error in the v6 software which is causing my V6 box to continue recording the film, program multiple times. He advised the known error will be fixed soon. He said the v6 is still receiving updates from time to time 😊

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
957 Views
Message 4 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

Hi

Just a heads up. The multiple & ghost recordings I've been discussing on here for over 12 month is now been worked on by the manufacture of our v6 boxes. Which is arris. I had the ticket raised on 2nd October. I've been advised the fix can take 6-8 weeks to be put in place. Fingers crossed the issue will be fixed by end of this month 🤞😊. Apparently this issue is effecting millions of customers. Not just me 😁

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 17.25K
  • 2.25K
  • 3.97K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
955 Views
Message 5 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

Scheduling of recordings etc, is managed by the TiVo software - not the hardware manufacturer.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
951 Views
Message 6 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

All I know is I've been advised that virgin are working with the manufacture to update their systems and v6 box software, firmware & platform etc 😁

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
917 Views
Message 7 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

Hi

I've just received an update from virgin media's tv tech team today. Saying my V6 boxes multiple & ghost recordings issue will be fixed 4-6 weeks from 31st October. So should be fully resolved by middle of December. Arris the v6 box manufacturer are currently working hard to fix the issue 😊

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
Gareth_L
  • 9.26K
  • 524
  • 1.03K
Forum Team
Forum Team
902 Views
Message 8 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Multiple recordings issue

Hello Johnny1983

Thanks for the above update

Can you please let us know how this pans out 

Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Johnny1983
  • 546
  • 1
  • 19
Fibre optic
395 Views
Message 9 of 33
Flag for a moderator

V6 box tuners

Hi 

I had a service call booked with an engineer today. Which was this morning . The engineer tuned both my V6 tuners . As the over phone TV tech team said one V6 box was reporting 3 tuners in the red and my other was reporting tuner 3 in the red. The engineer spent 35 mins tuning them on his meter . So they are all now reporting in green . The over the phone tech guy said they are all now in spec . But on the same frequency . When I double checked with engineer. He said he put them all in spec from my house brown box and also street cabinet . He showed me on his meter. That they are all in green . My question is are all the tuners meant to be on same frequency 🤔. The engineer did show me everything in green signal wise on his meter. He'd got rid of the reds . 

 

 

 

J.H
0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 17.25K
  • 2.25K
  • 3.97K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
388 Views
Message 10 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 box tuners

What's the problem you're having with your TV service?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply