Recently I permanently deleted a small series but I want to watch it again.with a friend via 'on demand.'
I have located it and can 'watch now'. My question is how long the 'watch now' using the on demand option is available.
The "watch now" option will be available for as long as the programme is available via VoD.
If the underlying question is how long are programmes available for, it depends on a few factors. If it's a box-set, these are generally a few months at a time. If it's a "CatchUp" programme recently broadcast, then different channels differ in availability,.
If you have a V6, you may be able to recover the recording - scroll to the bottom of "My Shows" and open up "recently deleted recordings". If it's listed in there, choose the "recover recording" option. Then it will be restored to your MS view and be available until you delete it again.
Not sure why it's a 3 paart series if it begins at episode 2
Looking on my 360 there are only episodes 2,3 and 4 showing. It looks like the episodes are only available for 4 weeks from when first aired.
Episode 2 aired 14th November and is available until 14th December; ep 3 aired 21st November and is available until 21st December; episode 4 is available until 28th December.
Looks like E1 has already dropped off - I only know this because I've still got the recording and the VoD link that's on 2, 3 & 4 isn't there on 1. If you go to watch E2, the final screen before "watch now" gives an expiry date of 14/12 in the corner.
E3 shows 21/12, E4 28/12
Check your recycle bin as I mentioned - if you deleted the recording recently, they may still be in there to recover.
OK thanks both. E1 has obviously already dropped off. The answer to my question seems to be that they can normally be called back for a month. I tend to fully delete my watched programmes as that's better for my ancient V6 box.
A lot of VoD content is either 1, 2 or 3months. I've known some Sky History stuff be 2months recently, so it can also vary within a channel.
I tend to fully delete my watched programmes as that's better for my ancient V6 box.
Once a recording is deleted, the space is already flagged for new recordings - there is nothing to be gained by clearing anything from the recycle bin. When space is needed, it is re-used automatically...