Menu
Storming55
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Connecting multiroom v6 box

Hello, have recently moved and took two virgin v6 boxes with us. Engineer connected the box in the living room. All working no problems. The multiroom box was not connected at the time. He ran a cable through the loft and down into the back bedroom. Whilst he was doing this he set up the 2nd box in the living room. He then left saying all we had to do was connect the upstairs box to the cable, connect the box to the second tv by hdmi cable and all should be well. Well all I get on the tv is “no signal”! I know the box upstairs is working because I can watch everything stored on it’s hard drive through my downstairs box. It seems that something else is required here? I am not technically minded so keep any suggestions as simple as possible please. Thank you. 

0 Kudos
japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connecting multiroom v6 box

So all VM boxes need 2 connections, one coax for the TV signals, and (in the case of V6) the WiFi/Ethernet to your homehub for all the internet based stuff. That's onDemand, streaming, EPG updates & multiroom streaming.

If both connections aren't present during the boot cycle, the box will complain in some manner.

You've mentioned "no signal" - if this was as an error generated by your V6, it should have an error code associated with it. If it doesn't, it may well be your TV complaining of "no signal on the selected input" - do you have the correct HDMI selected?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Ernie_C
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

No Signal will be a message from your TV, saying that the Source it is connected to is not providing a signal.