Menu
Reply
Etsb1973
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
565 Views
Message 11 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Thank you to everyone.

i now have 70% WiFi in the back room but the tv keeps dropping the on demand. Any box sets movies etc.

Ive tried to message them via WhatsApp to get an engineer to look at it-that didn’t work either, but I think this experience has made up my mind on which provider I’ll be using come renewal time. Great when all these things work but no use if they don’t. Everything is so complex to actually speak to someone. Neither my parents or INLAWS could cope with any of this ordeal.

By the way I’m not sure virgin could survive without you guys. Pity they didn’t invest the effort you lot do!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 19.99K
  • 2.56K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
561 Views
Message 12 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room


@Etsb1973 wrote:

i now have 70% WiFi in the back room but the tv keeps dropping the on demand. Any box sets movies etc.


What's the error code when VoD drops?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Etsb1973
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
555 Views
Message 13 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Code 603

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 19.99K
  • 2.56K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
548 Views
Message 14 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

That error code has nothing to do with the V6 <---> hub connection. Does the VoD programme start playing and then drop out later? Or does this error code occur at the start of playback?

Are you watching on a 4K/UHD or Samsung TV by any chance?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Etsb1973
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
546 Views
Message 15 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

It doesn’t play at all. It allows you to select the programme of choice but then fires that code up. It’s a 4year old sharp tv.

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 19.99K
  • 2.56K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
520 Views
Message 16 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

I rather hoped you'd say that.

603 is not a connectivity error so much as an HDCP compatibility problem - in most cases. On youtr V6 remote, follow Home > Help & Settings > Video Output > Video Output Format, and make sure that 1080 is available.

What's the model of the TV in question, and have you tried your HDMI lead in different ports?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Etsb1973
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
509 Views
Message 17 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Yes 1080 is clicked

tried all the hdmi ports

tv model is lc-48cfg6001k

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 4.38K
  • 216
  • 463
Forum Team
Forum Team
478 Views
Message 18 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Thanks for coming back to us Etsb1973,

In order to understand where the problem is, you will need to check the specifications of your audio or video equipment to ensure it supports HDCP 2.2 copy protection and that the V6 is connected correctly in order to enable this.

Until you can check your equipment, we can update the video output settings on your V6 box so don’t see the error message again, and you can watch all content on your TV in High Definition or Standard Definition format.

To do this using the V6 remote:

  • Select Home
  • Select Help and Settings
  • Select Settings
  • Select Video Output
  • Select Video Output Format
  • Untick the 2160p resolutions and make sure the 1080p resolutions are ticked.
  • Select Continue
  • Press Thumbs Up three times to save your new settings. If you’re able to confirm your audio or video equipment supports HDCP 2.2 and the V6 is connected to the correct input, follow these steps again, but choose Auto Detect in the Video Output Format screen. This will update your V6 box to use all the output settings your TV supports including Ultra HD.

Please try this first.

If you're still having issues after this, please come back to us. 

Kind regards Jodi. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Etsb1973
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
472 Views
Message 19 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Hi

yeah tried that and still won’t play anything. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 4.38K
  • 216
  • 463
Forum Team
Forum Team
429 Views
Message 20 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 20% signal in back room

Thanks for coming back to me Etsb1973,

I have run the diagnostics for you again, and unfortunately, this is a known error. I am really sorry that you are experiencing this issue. I will report the fault to the necessary department so that we can work towards resolving it.

In the meantime, please try viewing the programme again in 48 hours.

Kind regards Jodi. 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply