cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin 360 media box dark picture

Tezza1234
Joining in

Hi, I have just joined the community and would appreciate some help and advice.

We have been Virgin customers for 17 months and the broadband/tv package has been really first class experiencing no problems until recently. The picture on the 360 box has suddenly gone very dark, I have checked the tv picture on Freeview and it's as normal.

I am not tech savvy but have tried all the suggestions from the Community and different posts to no avail.

I have completed a factory reset on the box, checked for latest version of software, swapped the picture definition to 1080p and the picture is still unwatchable. I would really appreciate any help.

8 REPLIES 8

Carley_S
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hi @Tezza1234 

Welcome to the community forums. 

Sorry to hear you're having issues with the dark picture. Does this happen on all channels both live, OnDemand and recordings? If so, is it also dark on the TV guide and home screen as well?

Here to help 🙂
Virgin Media Forums Agent
Carley

Hi Carley, 

Thanks for getting back to me. 

I have carried out checks as requested,  all live channels are dark, on demand and recordings are also dark. The TV guide and home screen are so dark we can't see the menu options at the top of the screen. Regards  Terry 

Thank you for trying this @Tezza1234 and getting back to me. 

Do you have the same darkness when watching DVD's or playing video games on a console if you're able to try?

Do you have free to view channels not on the Virgin set top box? If so can you check this or your smart TV home screen without the set top box on?

Can you try another HDMI cable at all? 

Here to help 🙂
Virgin Media Forums Agent
Carley

Hi Carley, I  have tried the Picture on freeview independent of the Virgin box, it's fine and clear.