Menu
Reply
Mikeyw2000
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
2,648 Views
Message 1 of 29
Flag for a moderator

UHD not supported

Hi all.

 

just got Virgin media installed today to go with my new LG oled 4K tv. I’ve got the ultimate volt bundle so it includes the UHD sky movies.

im a bit confused as to why I’m getting this message about “uhd not supported”when I try and watch a sky movie in uhd. 

Im not sure where I can enable ultra HD like it suggests? Any ideas?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 14.08K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,624 Views
Message 2 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: UHD not supported

Hi @Mikeyw2000 

Have you got 4K enabled in the 360 settings?

Settings > Audio & Video > HDMI resolution >  there are 5 settings  ... Automatic, 4K, 1080p,1080i, 720p and 576p

 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
0 Kudos
Reply
Mikeyw2000
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
2,584 Views
Message 3 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: HDMI Resolution

Holmes - did LG ever get to the bottom of this. I got a C1 in December and my virgin set up today and I’m getting the same message

0 Kudos
Reply
Mikeyw2000
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
2,620 Views
Message 4 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: UHD not supported

I’ve got it on automatic, however 4K is not even an option. This clearly highlights an issue. 

I’ve just read on another thread that there is an issue with C1 and G1’s that we’re bought in the autumn.

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 14.08K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,609 Views
Message 5 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: UHD not supported

Hi again @Mikeyw2000 

Have you tried rebooting the 360?

Also you could try a factory reset.

To factory reset go to Settings (the cog at the end of the Home menu) > System > Factory Reset.
It's actually misnamed and only a partial system reset and not a complete factory reset. You are given 2 options

Keep Recordings
Format Disk

With the 360 selecting Choose Keep Recordings means you won't lose your recordings or any links you've set up (but will have to sign into apps such as iPlayer, Prime, Netflix and ITV Hub again)

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
newapollo
  • 14.08K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,578 Views
Message 6 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: HDMI Resolution

Hi @Mikeyw2000 

Have you checked that the LG firmware is up to date?

I believe the latest version is 03.21.10

The following is from November courtesy of   https://www.avforums.com/threads/lg-c1-oled-owners-and-discussion-thread.   :-

For those affected with the HDCP bug on LG C1/G1 manufactured after September 2021. LG has confirmed that the new firmware with HDCP fix is rolling out now globally to LG C1/G1.

Firmware 03.20.80 to be exact.

*For anyone downloading the new firmware please note that you must unplug the TV from the wall socket for a few minutes after updating

If downloading the firmware from the LG site add a folder to USB stick & call it LG_DTV
Down load file
Unzip it
drag it into the LG_DTV folder
Put in your TV

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
Mikeyw2000
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
2,575 Views
Message 7 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: HDMI Resolution

I’m on 03.21.05 with no updates available.

I’ve done the factory reset on the virgin box, still no change.

ive got no chance of unplugging it from the wall though, it’s 77inchs and the socket is behind tv! 🤣

0 Kudos
Reply
Mikeyw2000
  • 13
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
2,593 Views
Message 8 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: UHD not supported

@newapollo thanks for the suggestion, but still no luck

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 14.08K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,564 Views
Message 9 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: HDMI Resolution

Hi again @Mikeyw2000 

I think the poster from that site meant from the mains not the wall 🤣

You might want to keep an eye on the following thread as they both have LG C1's

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Virgin-TV-360/Re-HDMI-Resolution/td-p/4898848 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
0 Kudos
Reply
Royalbeech
  • 186
  • 4
  • 60
Superfast
2,584 Views
Message 10 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: UHD not supported

I have read in several place it's an LG issue as it's happened with Sky Q also, check your TV software is up to date. 

0 Kudos
Reply