Menu
wattsy
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Recordings

Hi. I'm very new to the 360 having only upgraded from my 2 V6 boxes a couple of days ago. The new interface is much fresher and better to look at but it feels like I've lost some functionality.

Like, for example, if I wanted to record "Time" from BBC1 which ended yesterday, the old V6 box would allow e to explore episodes from iPlayer and add them to my EPG but I can't seem to do this anymore. I need to go hunting in iPlayer and watch independently of the EPG.

Also, I can't see how to make it record just new episodes of a series. So if I create a series link (or whatever it's called on 360) for a regularly recurring program, it seems to record not just the episode every Tuesday at 7pm (for example) but also anther version that's aired at 3am on another day of the week. 

Maybe it's just a question of getting used to the new interface but it feels like I've gained in terms of the UI but lost in terms of usability?

0 Kudos
japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recordings

@wattsy wrote:

Like, for example, if I wanted to record "Time" from BBC1 which ended yesterday, the old V6 box would allow e to explore episodes from iPlayer and add them to my EPG but I can't seem to do this anymore. I need to go hunting in iPlayer and watch independently of the EPG.

For starters you can't record a programme that has finished. BUT.. if you mean the ability to set recordings of programmes that aren't due for broadcast, then you're right.

TiVo software has the ability to set a series link from any programme that's in the EPG somewhere - usually meaning an OnDemand/streaming episode. 360 needs to have that programme in a broadcast schedule somewhere.