Menu
Reply
Mattg68
  • 48
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
831 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Dolby digital set to always convert but no sound from centre speaker unless true 5.1. Suggests the conversion from stereo to Dolby surround isn't working. I can manually set the amp to surround but this shouldn't be necessary. Any suggestions other than changing the surround mode on the amp each time ?

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 8.3K
  • 539
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
817 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

I think you need Dolby Digital and "Follow Content" which, if my understanding is correct, will effectively bitstream the audio so that Dolby Digital 5.1 and 2-channel PCM will be passed through to the AV receiver/amp.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 4.17K
  • 137
  • 288
Forum Team
Forum Team
778 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Hi @Mattg68,

Thank you for your post and welcome back to our community forums. We're here to help.
 

I am sorry to hear you've been having a bit of trouble with your audio recently. Have you followed the advice provided by @Roger_Gooner yet? If so, have they helped at all?

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Mattg68
  • 48
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
762 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Hi Zach,

Yes, if I set it to Follow content then the output is 2.1 and I can convert to Dolby surround on the amp. 

But surely setting to always convert should output in surround 5.1 from the source.

The amp shows the output as Dolby digital plus but no sound from the centre speaker unless I set the amp to convert to Dolby surround.

This suggests to me that the conversion is not working properly.

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 8.3K
  • 539
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
753 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Dolby Digital does not mean that you always get 5.1 as some are broadcast in stereo, and some HD channels such as ITV HD and E4 HD are also broadcast in stereo. Incidentally I don't see why you'd want to convert stereo to surround sound as I think it's best to hear what is broadcast.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
Mattg68
  • 48
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
731 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Hi Roger,

Thanks for the reply. I'm certainly no expert but my understanding was Dolby digital gives 5 channels

https://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/Dolby-Digital

The amp info for the input/output would also seem to support this as it shows 5 channels from the virgin box.

If I set the Virgin output to Follow Content and let the amp convert to Dolby surround I get sound from the centre speaker. 

Maybe the conversion performed by the virgin box doesn't work in the same way.

Recently the sound quality seems impaired and I wondered if there'd been a recent firmware update that might be the cause.

Its not a major issue other than I have to manually select the surround mode on the amp depending on the source output.

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 8.3K
  • 539
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
716 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Dolby Digital has the capability of providing five channels but is not required to do so, indeed it be entirely wrong for DD to produce fake 5.1 from stereo input. There's no shortage of stereo from DD, look no further than BBC1 HD, BBC 2 HD and Sky Witness HD.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Mattg68
  • 48
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
700 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

I'm not sure what Virgin are trying to achieve then.

These are the input/outputs from the AV amp with each setting.

Screenshot_20210928-202557__02.jpg

Screenshot_20210928-202551__01.jpg

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
SpookyElectric1
  • 71
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
696 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.

Since the weekend I too have lost centre speaker sound on some TV channels (notably C4) using any Dolby setting except ‘Disable’. Nothing has changed on the Amp.

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 8.3K
  • 539
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
675 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: No sound from centre speaker thru av amp.


@Mattg68 wrote:

I'm not sure what Virgin are trying to achieve then.

These are the input/outputs from the AV amp with each setting.

Screenshot_20210928-202557__02.jpg

Screenshot_20210928-202551__01.jpg

 


This looks right. Always Convert outputs 5.1 (a better test is BBC 1 HD which is DD stereo) and Follow Content outputs 2.1 from PCM 2.0 stereo.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply