Menu
JillW2021
Tuning in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

New Customer-picture and internet speed

New customer here, just switched over from Sky Q, Ive tried getting help to no avail so I'm asking the community here to see if you can help.

2 issues

Issue 1. Internet speed

I have the new box (may 2021) with a Hub4 router,

Im only on one device, my macbook pro, the router is 3 meters away, no interference from phones or microwaves, its in a good spot for signals, 

I was promised 215 download, I get 200MB to the hub, and only 70MB to my computer 

I am a designer and I work with graphics so speed is essential and one of the main reasons I signed up to Virgin.

ISSUE 2:

TV picture quality is poor, I have a new Toshiba TV and the settings are optimal for the best picture. It has not changed settings since I had the Sky Q box yet the new picture quality since switching to Virgin is dire. You can tell in the lettering graphics especially the edges of the lettering which are blurred and the main picture is also not crisp at all. When I change to HD channels, the picture is slightly better. The TV is new and is not the issue, it seems that all the regular, non-HD channels are quite frankly, awful, it's like an old analog signal, not good !

I am still within the time to cancel my Virgin service and sadly I will unless these issues are fixed.

Advice is most welcomed  

0 Kudos
japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Customer-picture and internet speed

Can I recommend you post about the speed issues in the speed forum here ? If any detail is required, that may make things easier.

On the TV picture... what size screen are you watching on, or better still what model of TV? Just making sure you're not trying to watch SD channels on a UHD TV, which is never going to end well..

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more