I’ve just received a new 360 box (and a mini) and text the number to activate it. I was still watching something on my current V6 box at the time and after about 10 minutes, it stopped playing and said I didn’t have an active subscription so couldn’t watch the recording. I plugged the new 360 box in and everything seems to be working fine, but how do I watch the recordings off my V6?
Unless something quite fundamental has changed quite recently that I've missed, you can't mix TiVo/V6 & V360 on the same account.
Once a V360 is activated, the TiVo/V6 are deactivated. Unless the old box was disconnected from the VM network at the point of deactivation (in which case it's living on borrowed time), then once the deactivation hit is received, that box is no longer any use.
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more
Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks
I'm pretty confident the V6 was connected when it was deactivated - I held on as long as I could to watch more recordings knowing I'd have to set up series links again and would eventually lose all the recordings on the V6, so I just waited for the 360 to automatically be activated after 5-7 days. I was then able to watch live TV and schedule recordings on the 360 and continue to work through recordings on the V6. This was in the earlier trial before the recent one so things may have changed - I can only speak from personal experience.
It is made very clear that when you upgrade to TV 360 you will lose access to your previous recordings as the box will be deactivated if you are getting new boxes. If you are getting an upgrade from V6 to TV 360 OTA you also lose your recordings as the boxes are formatted as part of the update.
There are plenty of threads about it should of been in the user manuals for TV 360. I would be surprise if you wasn't told that you r old boxes would be deactivated when new boxes are activated. It is certainly always been the case when new equipment gets activated the old ones get de-activated so it cant be used in case of being lost in transit etc,