cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet Cable

Matilda001
Dialled in

I have just noticed that my ethernet cable does not appear to be attached to both hubs.  The cable is attached to the new fibre hub but not to the other box.  Hopefully these photos will explain better as I am not very technical when it comes to these matters:

ethernet cable 1.jpgether 2.jpgether cable 3.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Apologies Matilda001, can yo try the below-

1. Select Start menu in your taskbar at the bottom left of your screen.
  2. Go to 'Settings' and then 'Network & Internet'.
  3. Select 'WiFi' on the left menu, then select 'Manage known networks'.
  4. Select the network you want to remove, then click 'Forget'

Once you've done this, to reconnect select the Network or Wifi icon in the notification area and choose your WiFi network which will be detailed on your hub.

Alex_Rm

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

18 REPLIES 18

Matilda001
Dialled in

It just appears odd that the ethernet cable is only attached to one box?  Anyone of a technical nature that could shed any light on whether this is normal?  Thanks in advance.

Hi Matilda001,

The ethernet cable would normally be plugged into the back of the 360 box, if your TV guide is always up to date and you can use the apps such as iPlayer then I would say someone has removed the cable and connected you to the hub by WiFi. A cable connection is always the preferred connection and if it reaches the 360 box plug it in.

If things stop working with the cable connected it might have been removed because either the cable or port on your hub is faulty, I would connect it and see, if you then have any problems update this thread.