Menu
Pete_Notts
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

A 360 Box..1Gbps..I'm New Here & Bamboozled !!

Hi

I only signed up yesterday..and it was for a totally different reason - ergo to rally the bosses to provide CNN in HD. That was why I joined.

Now don't get me wrong - I'm no newbie to the firm - being a customer so long that I still have my old ntlworld email address.

I tend as a hermit recluse - which is sadly easy under these desperate times - to live/exist, and generally like to keep my tech up to date at the highest spec..so long as useful to me.

But this forum has left me with a ton of questions. And before anyone asks - yes, I know how to use google, and to visit the VM site and dig through things. I've done that, and come up emptyhanded in terms of answers.

Before noting the questions..I also discovered that I cannot upgrade anything online. I currently have TiVO, Maxit package, M350 broadband and home phone Talk More Anytime. I also subscribe to Sky Movies HD.

This is my first question/confusion. So I receive all the email fliers from VM..none are blocked. What is 360, and where does it sit in terms of boxes available ? Is it superior/next gen to TiVO ? Is it only an app upgrade box for voice control..? Is there extended UHD compatibility with the 360 ?

Honestly trying to find a comparison against my current TiVO eluded me. I generally always want the best tech..*BUT* if the 360 is superior, then apart from 'voice commands' which I don't care about - what is it in terms of what I have already with TiVO ?

The next thing which is really under my skin. A few threads down and I see customers talking about a 1Gbps service. I live in central Nottingham, so a fairly central location - and have never had any mail letting me know there are higher tiers of broadband. Plus as I said, when I click on "Upgrade your...phone/TV/broadband" I always get this verbatim message :

"Oops! Something went wrong.