Menu
vmrrwm
Tuning in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Sony Ericsson Cybershot (Model C902) and NEW SIM problems

Like many I have recently recieved a new SIM to replace the existing SIM I've been using since about 2006.

Swapping the SIM today, the phone turns on and appears to work; but after about 30-45 seconds appears to lose the network connection (screen goes blank, any phone call is disconnected (or anything you were doing is lost) and after about 5-10 seconds the screen comes back with the "searching for network" message).

It doesn't appear to matter what I am doing - first occurring when I was resetting the time/ date. On calling 789 it usually gets to about halfway through "your balance is ..." before cutting off just as it gets to what the options are.

Swapping back to the old SIM card, and everything works as it should do.

The new SIM feels thinner than the old sim (and a google says that new SIMS may be a fraction of a mm thinner) so have tried using a little paper to increase the thickness of the new SIM in case it is a case of losing contact or slipping or something similar. But this makes no difference.

Unlike other people with problems, the SIM is recognised, I am not asked for any sort of unlocking code, and I can dial out (although, as I said, after about 30 seconds the call is dropped, the phone goes black and the network is lost). 

With the old SIM I can trigger the phone status - which shows me the phone number.
On the new SIM, I don't ever seem to get the number shown on the status (before it loses the network connection).

Is this a problem with the SIM, the phone (is the C902 somehow incompatible with the new SIM), the network or something else. As a feature phone with buttons, and being small enough to actually fit inside a pocket, it has worked well - and were it not for this problem now, I'd expect it to keep on working well for a good number of years.