Menu
PeterH2
Joining in
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Sim swap overseas-help!

Hi,

I have been a Virgin Mobile PAYG user since 2000- not a very frequent mobile user so it has worked quite well. I have been working abroad outside the EU since 2017 on a series of one year contracts. I have not been back to the UK since August 2019 . At the moment my return date to the UK is uncertain because of Covid restrictions. My current Virgin handset is an Alcatel Pixi purchased in a Virgin Mobile store in the UK in March/April 2017 which contains what was then a brand new SIM. I have been able to use it abroad to send and recieve calls and texts without any problems  as well as top it up using my current bank details. It is very important to me as it is my only UK mobile number and I need it to be able to reply to OTPs from my bank . 

A week ago I received a text from Virgin Media telling me that they wanted to send me out a new SIM and that they needed confirmation of my postcode in the UK to be able to do that. I wasn't expecting to receive a new SIM and it was only when I had a look on the internet that I became aware of the imminent SIM swap which seems to be a compulsory exercise.  I haven't replied to this text yet as the address that Virgin will  have on their system is my old UK address which is now no longer valid. I tried contacting Virgin Media by phone to update my details but only got automated replies which directed me to try to set up an online account, something which I have never done. I haven't been able to do this because the process would not generate any security questions for me to answer.