Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

New sim keeps searching.

I received a swap sim recently. The phone accepts the sim but it keeps searching for the 4G network continuously. The 4G signal is strong in my location.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New sim keeps searching.

Thanks for the post Jeff_Reeves.

Can we please confirm if you're still having some trouble accessing the 4G with your new SIM?

Let us know, Emily.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Yes I still have the SIM searching continually problem. When switching the iPhone 6 off and on the message "SIM locked" appears and after entering the unlock code the "SIM searching" message appears in the top left corner of the phone. I think I need another swap SIM from Virgin Mobile but there is no way for me to make contact with them at present. I have been paying the monthly charge for several months with no service. I am not happy.

Jeff

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Hate to say it but it sounds like your iPhone is Network Locked. Until recently iPhone automatically locked to the first SIM inserted.

The new SIM card show a different network to the old ones, hence this problem.

Either try the SIM in a different unlocked phone or borrow a SIM on any non EE based network to see if it does the same

Will prove for certain one way or the other.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Thank you for confirming, did you get the handset from ourselves or from a third party? 

Let us know, Emily.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Thanks enlli,