Menu
Hayley72
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Mobile contract upgrade issue

Hi , I wonder if anyone else has experienced this.  For many years I have had three mobile contracts with Virgin, for myself, my son and my daughter. I have been with Virgin for a good 20 years, never missed a payment or had a late payment and I have no bad credit. Today when I tried to upgrade one of my phones, as the contract has just finished, I was told after doing the credit checks that they would not be able to offer me that contract for the Samsung phone I want, which is for £28 per month, but offered me an Oppo phone that I don't want. I was very annoyed about this as I have no problem affording the contract, it is only  £5 per month more than the one I have been paying for the last 2 years!  Anyway, they told me this is down to Equifax as they only go by the info on there. I signed up to Equifax and cannot see any reason why I shouldn't have got the contract as there's nothing bad on there. Equifax say on their website that it is down to individual companies if they refuse you a contract. I wonder what other criteria Virgin are taking into account to still refuse me when I have a good credit record.