Menu
gjenkins
Tuning in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Cancel SIM and refund for no service

I've been paying for 2 SIMs from Virgin for several years now. I barely use them as I spend most of my time in China but I need a UK number for when I go back and for accessing bank & HMRC services.

I noticed my SIM wasn't working when trying to get an access code to do my VAT return. I then discovered Virgin had deactivated my SIM and sent a new one to my UK home address. There was no option to opt-out - it was forced on my and resulted in losing access to my service.

The one time I managed to get a live chat session working, the customer service representative was quite rude and implied it was my fault for not living in the UK and he kept dropping off for 15 mins at a time whilst in the middle of our chat conversation. I can't call or text (no mobile service anyway) so need some other way to contact Virgin.

I had a friend pick up the new SIM from my home but it simply doesn't work. He waited 24 hours, tried in several different handsets and attempted to contact customer service but couldn't get through after more than 45mins.  

In addition to this, last November I travelled to Germany for a short trip and found the mobile internet didn't work (should have EU roaming). The helpdesk couldn't resolve my issue and I incurred much expense paying for WiFi hotspots and had much trouble getting Ubers and so on.

I have decided to cancel and want a refund for the time I have been without access to the service. I refuse to keep hanging on waiting for replacement SIMs that don't work and endure the shoddy customer service.

I have requested PAC codes from my online account but see no other way to properly cancel. I also want to file a complaint and request but there is now where to do so. The website keeps throwing errors whenever I get close to finding someplace. 

Can someone from customer service please respond to my complaint?

0 Kudos
Zoie_P
Forum Team
Forum Team