Menu
Reply
Gavinb1995
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
392 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

DVR Serious problem green screen

Green screen error has been on my screen for about 3 days now, tried phoning and the customer service has been pretty atrocious to be honest. Looking to get a new box sent out as nothing else is working.

 

looking forward to getting in touch

thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 8.52K
  • 1.19K
  • 1.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
378 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

You're probably not going to like this answer...

The green "DVR has detected an error" message means your hard drive has failed and your box will need replacing.

If you call VM faults on 150 (or 0345 4541111 from a non-VM phone) they can arrange this.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Gavinb1995
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
364 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Yep tried doing so however the customer service advisor I spoke to for over an hour insisted I couldn’t be sent out a new box

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 8.52K
  • 1.19K
  • 1.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
357 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Did they give a reason why not? What alternative advice/solution was offered? (Not that it would solve the issue, but to clarify what was said on the call)

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Gavinb1995
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
355 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

They said that it would require troubleshooting and restarting my box would work. Which of course it didn’t and I said I have read on here that I need a new box and they said they can’t authorise that and the only thing they could do would send an engineer out. Obviously with covid just now and having high risk family members sending a box out would make things a whole lot easier

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 8.52K
  • 1.19K
  • 1.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
343 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

There have been reasons for this being done by engineer visit in the past, which may apply in this situation too. But I'd agree the box needs replacing in any case.

I've escalated this post to VM Forum staff to pick up.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Gavinb1995
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
335 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Thanks for the reply, hopefully sorted soon had no TV since Wednesday as a result 

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 2.73K
  • 152
  • 221
Forum Team
Forum Team
315 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Thanks for your post and for reaching out to the Community Forums, Gavinb1995,

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having issues with your DVR, I will send you a private message to confirm your account information and the serial number of the box.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 2.73K
  • 152
  • 221
Forum Team
Forum Team
281 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Thanks for your messages and details, Gavinb1995,

 

I've cancelled the visit and have now send a replacement box for you. So it's on the way, please allow 3-5 days delivery.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Gavinb1995
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
279 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: DVR Serious problem green screen

Thank you very much for your help. All we wanted to get it sorted, far better help on here than elsewhere, will use this for any issues in the future

 

Thanks again