Menu
yarhamjohn
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Broken image/sound on start from standby

I have a new TiVo box and most days when I turn it on for the first time after it has been in standby, the picture and sound flickers. The only solution is to turn the box off and on again at the wall. This isn't great since the box takes 5+ mins to turn on each time.

0 Kudos
campo7
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broken image/sound on start from standby

Hi

Try and change the settings on the Virgin box. The screen resolution from 2160 to 1080. This can help. 

Something I remember having to tell a customer was, take the TV set out of standby first then the virgin box. I remember we had an issue with a certain make of TV. 

Here to help! I'm a manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
yarhamjohn
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Thank you for your suggestions - I appreciate you taking the time to respond. Unfortunately I have tried both without any consistent success. I have just had the first half of a football match ruined by this and couldn't restart the box as I would miss a large chunk of it.

To be honest as well, whilst these solutions may work for some people I don't really feel like these are acceptable things for anyone to have to do long term. Reducing the resolution is hardly reasonable as a solution given the amount of money paid for this service.