Menu
Reply
Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
902 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

only 2 locked downstream channels?

Morning All,

Hoping for a bit of advice, I have checked the router status and within the "upstream" tab it shows that I have only 2 locked downstream channels rather than 4? Can you suggest what affects this would have and how to get it rectified? many thanks

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000394.7512064 qam44
2537000004.85512064 qam42



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P1
  • 353
  • 62
  • 77
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
889 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Hi,
Please send me a private message, not reply or quick reply, with your account number and area code/ postcode and I'll look into it for you.

To PM me, just hover over my profile picture and click Send Message when the option comes up. Please don't post any personal info in this thread as it's public.
Rob


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


Jake_S
  • 184
  • 39
  • 54
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
887 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Hi,

Double check all your connections are nice and tight and perform a Hub factory reset, push the pinhole reset on the back of the hub with a pin or paperclip or similar for 60 seconds then allowing it to restart itself it should then hopefully lock on to all 4 upstream channels. Its also worth posting the downstream channels if this doesn't resolve the issue. In regards to what it will affect by only having 2 lock upstream channels you will find you likely have only partial service or even intermittent loss of service or slow speeds.

Hope this helps
Jake
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am a Virgin Media Field Technician. All and any advice given is based on my experience in the field or my personal experiences with my own set up at home. If my answer was helpful to you please Mark as helpful or consider leaving the post some Kudos.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Want to save £50 off your bill by referring a friend? Send me a PM and I'll let you know how!


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
881 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

The coax was a little loose. Have tightened. Just doing a reset. 

have also pmed Rob

0 Kudos
Reply
Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
870 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Have tightened the coax, the QED ethernet cables are all clipped in, done a hub reset and still showing the same

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
419000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
0 Kudos
Reply
Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
865 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 419000000 0.7 38 256 qam 32
2 203000000 -2 36 256 qam 9
3 211000000 -2 36 256 qam 10
4 219000000 -2.4 36 256 qam 11
5 227000000 -2.4 36 256 qam 12
6 235000000 -2.5 36 256 qam 13
7 243000000 -2.5 37 256 qam 14
8 251000000 -2.7 37 256 qam 15
9 259000000 -2.2 37 256 qam 16
10 267000000 -1.5 37 256 qam 17
11 275000000 -1.5 37 256 qam 18
12 283000000 -1.5 37 256 qam 19
13 291000000 -1.7 37 256 qam 20
14 299000000 -1.5 37 256 qam 21
15 307000000 -1.4 37 256 qam 22
16 315000000 -0.7 37 256 qam 23
17 323000000 -0.2 37 256 qam 24
18 363000000 0.5 37 256 qam 25
19 371000000 0.2 38 256 qam 26
20 379000000 0.5 37 256 qam 27
21 387000000 0.5 37 256 qam 28
22 395000000 0.7 37 256 qam 29
23 403000000 0.5 37 256 qam 30
24 411000000 0.5 37 256 qam 31


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 36.6 104 2
2 Locked 36.3 178 0
3 Locked 36.3 108 0
4 Locked 36.6 219 0
5 Locked 37.3 146 0
6 Locked 37.6 202 0
7 Locked 37.3 178 0
8 Locked 37.3 102 0
9 Locked 37.6 84 0
10 Locked 38.6 115 5
11 Locked 37.6 63 0
12 Locked 37.6 49 0
13 Locked 37.3 90 0
14 Locked 37.6 116 0
15 Locked 37.6 66 0
16 Locked 37.6 192 0
17 Locked 37.6 104 0
18 Locked 38.6 170 0
19 Locked 37.3 101 0
20 Locked 37.3 243 0
21 Locked 37.3 117 12
22 Locked 37.3 37 0
23 Locked 37.6 113 0
24 Locked 38.6 43 0

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 4.725 5120 64 qam 44
2 53700000 4.85 5120 64 qam 42


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 52148 52690
Max Traffic Rate 117000047 117000047
Max Traffic Burst 42600 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 52147 52689
Max Traffic Rate 10500047 10500047
Max Traffic Burst 16320 16320
Min Traffic Rate 0 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort BestEffort

Network Log
Time Priority Description
27/04/2020 18:18:26 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2020 17:45:14 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2020 17:26:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2020 10:50:10 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2020 16:11:48 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2020 15:59:37 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2020 12:09:52 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 10:04:51 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 10:04:19 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2020 15:50:50 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2020 15:25:54 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 19:42:52 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/04/2020 18:03:20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/04/2020 08:03:25 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/04/2020 04:52:51 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 09:31:11 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 09:17:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 08:00:48 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 07:59:9 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 07:51:54 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 6.53K
  • 472
  • 1.13K
Legend
822 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

In some areas there's only two upstream channels. As you're only on M100 I think you're OK.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
797 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

All seems okay. Is something I’ll just keep in mind if I start to have any issues. No technicians could come out now anyway

0 Kudos
Reply
Morad_R
  • 81
  • 11
  • 17
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
779 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Hey, 

 

out of interest what hub model do you have ?


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
Joe_C
  • 43
  • 1
  • 3
Dialled in
769 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: only 2 locked downstream channels?

Hub 3.0 ?

0 Kudos
Reply