Menu
fortec10
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

old router

Just upgraded to super hub3, can i use my old hub 2 as a repeater via ethernet cable in another part of house?

0 Kudos
carl_pearce
Superstar
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: old router

@fortec10 wrote:

Just upgraded to super hub3, can i use my old hub 2 as a repeater via ethernet cable in another part of house?

EDIT: VM will NOT require the HUB 2 to be returned (I've been reliably told!).

To answer your original question I don't believe the device has an 'AP' mode.

RedGooner
Super solver
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

No, go buy an external router and put the SH in modem mode. Its ways better.

--
Red (VM SH2 AC Beta tester)
Running on 1Gbps VM service with SH4 in Modem Mode, with a ASUS RT-AC5300 router. With this setup I get Fantastic WIRED and WIRELESS Signals in my home. I dont work for VM. But I work in IT, and I know my tech.
My advice is at your own risk. If you are happy with my answers please press Kudo ?
0 Kudos
-tony-
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

@fortec10 wrote:

not sure what you mean by repeater - you can certainly use its wifi and lan ports 

you need to set it up though - to be sure you are working on the SH2 turn off the hub 3 then connect the SH2 to your laptop with a lan cable - do a full reset on the SH2 - then go to 192.168.0.1 - log into it - password on the bottom

turn off DHCP and change its ip address - anything will do but use a high number - 192.168.0.99 say - save that you can set the wifi to whatever you want - different to hub3 or the same - again save all that and turnit off and remove it