Menu
MasterofArts
Dialled in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

QRM, EMC, noisy electronic equipment, Ferrites etc etc

Hello,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to read my post. I just want to point out that I do not have a technical problem with my virgin services (out with the current area issues).

I am a Licensed Amateur Radio operator I am constantly battling with QRM, EMC etc etc.

Our broadband router & their power packs in particular give off tons of noise like most switch mode power packs including switches, cheap LED lights etc.

I am more than positive VM are within OFCOM guidelines on this however it doesn't help me nor my hobby.

So I want to gather your suggestions such as ferrite and anything else you can come up with to help us radio guys to clean up the QRM a bit.

Look forward to your suggestions.

73s,

May the force be with you,

MOA.

Local heart throb to anything technical.
Using a HUB 2ac in modem mode, Netgear R7800 Router with the DNS on cloudflare's, Netgear switch & NAS
image host
0 Kudos
newapollo
Hero
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: QRM, EMC, noisy electronic equipment, Ferrites etc etc

Hi MOA,

Glancing at your BQM you have a very poor line, which may be due to noise ingress. 

You should be posting your stats in the Networking-and-WiFi Forum  so the tech guru's there can have  a look and see if they can help. 

They will be pleased that you already have the BQM.

Also you could possibly be looking at a newer Hub3 router.

Using an ethernet connection in your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return.

Don't login, instead below there click on Check Router Status

From the Router Status page copy/paste 3 FULL sets of data into your thread – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. 

Don't worry, if you copy paste those stats it won't reveal any personal information.

Dave