Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Virgin TV Go

Hi,I am new to Virgin Media, just had it all installed a couple of days. I have installed tie Virgin Go app but when I try to watch any programmes I get the error message "The Silverlight Plugin is not supported for Safari version 12 and upwards. We are currently working on an alternative way of supporting video in Safari, but in meantime we recommend using a different browser such as Google Chrome or Firefox. We apologise for any inconvenience."

I am using a MacBook Air running Safari version 13.0.2 as my only browser. Is there any way round this problem? It seems mad that using the most updated version of this browser prevents you from using the benefits of the Virgin Package.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin TV Go

Anyone in the community got any suggestions how to resolve this?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Hi Mick_E,

Sorry to hear that you're unable to watch Virgin TV Go on Safari due to the Silverlight plugin being incompatible. 

Are you able to try a different browser such as Chrome or Firefox? 

Regards,

Lisa

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Hi Lisa

Thanks for your response. I only have one laptop. (MacBook Air) and I use Safari as the browser. I used to watch Sky Go with no problems prior to switching to Virgin. I also have iPhone 8 that I used to watch Sky Go on and this also uses Safari. I am not that technically competent and don't want to install Chrome as this might cause issues with other Apps on my devices. I understand(now I have signed to Virgin and started researching) that this is a long standing issue with Virgin Go and "they hope to find a solution". Do you know if this is still being worked on?

regards

Mick

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Hi Mick,