Menu
Reply
  • 972
  • 47
  • 84
Moderator
Moderator
1,260 Views
Message 11 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi danjt1984,

Very sorry to hear this is ongoing for you.

As this is happening on all three browsers, we would recommend getting in touch with Sky to see if there is an issue with their service.

Thanks

Lindsey_C

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 5
danjt1984
On our wavelength
1,248 Views
Message 12 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Lindsey,

Sky have directed me to Virgin.

I do believe that the issue is with Sky's player, and I think the previous update has caused this. However, given the collaboration between Virgin and Sky and given that I am not the only person experiencing the issue, I'd like this raised for me by Virgin. Whilst the fault isn't with Virgin here, it is affecting me as a customer.

Thanks,
Dan

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 972
  • 47
  • 84
Moderator
Moderator
1,245 Views
Message 13 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi danjt1984,

Can you sign in here to see what devices are registered please? This is in the settings then manage my devices, this will take you through to view what devices are registered and make changes to these. 

Thanks

Lindsey_C

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 5
danjt1984
On our wavelength
1,242 Views
Message 14 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Lindsey,

All my devices are correctly registered. I cannot get the Sky Sport player to prompt me to go to the Virgin site and register my device because that error in my first post displays.

Thanks,
Dan

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 743
  • 40
  • 152
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,267 Views
Message 15 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Dan, 

 

Thank you for confirming. Just to check, are you able to access the Sky Sports service on any other devices or when using mobile data?

 

It does look like this may have been caused by the update and if it requires more ports, this could cause problems with certain setups. If you have issues when trying to use a different device or connection, the issue probably lies with your account. If the problem only occurs on your work PC, it would suggest that it's a fault or setting contradiction with the player itself.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 5
danjt1984
On our wavelength
1,223 Views
Message 16 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Rachael,

IT have looked at the ports for me and there's still no change I'm afraid. I have no doubt that the issue is with the player but I would hope that Virgin would be in touch with Sky to tell them that customers are being affected by this.

Thanks,
Dan

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 979
  • 46
  • 87
Forum Team (Retired) Tom_S
Forum Team (Retired)
1,210 Views
Message 17 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Dan,

 

As you've advised that Sky customers are also posting about the issues I'm sure that Sky would already be aware that there is an issue that needs addressing. As it is a work PC I'm not sure if this is possible for you, however have you tried downloading the desktop app and seeing if the issue persists? Have IT been able to open the additional ports they think the app needs for service or is this something they can't do for you?

Does the post by Volt in this thread help? Sky Forum Fix

 

Thanks,

Tom_S

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 5
danjt1984
On our wavelength
1,200 Views
Message 18 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Hi Tom,

That post was the first thing I came across - I have uninstalled and re-installed several times, restarted, turned off and on again and tried every browser. Nothing has given so far unfortunately. Please see the below screenshot. I see only V6.0, not 6.1 as "Volt" states. IT have not been able to sort the ports as of yet but I suspect that is a co-incidence and not the issue.

Thanks,
Dan

Version.JPG

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 5
danjt1984
On our wavelength
1,191 Views
Message 19 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

devices.JPG

To follow up, I think I have the same problems as a lot of people in this thread: https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TV-on-the-go/TV-Go-device-registration/td-p/3945324

I have no devices but I can't register any devices, because every time I try to follow the steps in the last box I go to the player, which spits out the original error code.

CIE-2000 might well be a Sky code for "this device is not registered" but at this point I'm stuck in a loop. I can't register my device and I can't use the player without being registered. And it all worked fine until the end of January.

Thanks,
Dan

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 62
  • 0
  • 3
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,176 Views
Message 20 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: Sky Sports Player error - CIE-2000

Good afternoon, Dan

 

I'm sorry to hear that you are getting an error code CIE-2000  whenever you register to Sky Sport. I've read your posts and it shows that you have tried everything on your end, like; you uninstalled and re-installed several times, restarted, turned off and on again and tried other browser. And still nothing works. We appreciate your time doing all of these. 

 

Since same problem occur, I would recommend a technical specialist that will help you on this. We can do this via online chat.

 

Thanks,

Anna_B

0 Kudos
Reply