Menu
arlowood
Up to speed
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Potential Solution for the Device Registration Issue on PC/Laptops (Windows 10)

Hi Folks 

Been wrestling with this problem since VM in their wisdom withdrew the dedicated Windows 10 app that I had been using happily for at least 18 months. I moved to the App back then when this device registration issue was alive and kicking without any real sign of a fix being found.

OK - when I was directed to using the browser version of the app I tried it out using Chrome which is my default browser. Immediately ran into issues with the browser app not recognising my PC. I quickly built up to the maximum devices and was locked out for 30 days. Eventually I had help from a kind VM Moderator who reset my devices and I started the process of investigation.

I tried all avenues with Chrome and eventually moved on to Microsoft Edge but came to the conclusion that neither browser was going to allow me to watch live TV consistently without running up a maximum no of devices (all My Computer - Google Chrome) plus my Samsung tablet running on the Android app ( which has been faultless BTW).

On the suggestion of the moderator I tried Internet Explorer. Now I thought IE had died a death after the launch of Edge but it is still there within Windows 10 but they don't advertise it. You just need to type in Internet Explorer into the search box at the bottom left of the taskbar and you will get the IE app to click on. If you launch IE - just type virgin tvgo into the search box and you will get the Home page of the tvgo software in your search. Just click on the "Home" heading and it will launch the TVGo app. In contrast to Chrome and Edge it does not prompt you to download and install the app (don't know if this is significant).

You can then sign in in the normal way and register your device if you have free slots available. (if your devices are maxed out - try to get a moderator to reset them for you.)