Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

How can I turn my internet off overnight?

Really simple question but apparently very hard to achieve. I want my internet to switch off between 11pm and 7am every day.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: How can I turn my internet off overnight?

Hi Thompben, 

Would you mind if I asked why you wished to do this? 

Generally the internet access feature is something that would remain on. 

It is possible to turn off Wi-fi access but this requires manually changing the Hub settings.

If it is that you wanted to restrict access to the internet for your children (for example), I might suggest using an application such as Google Family as this will allow you to monitor and amend access automatically. 

I hope this helps 

Ed 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Highlighted
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Hi Ed,
I want to prevent my teenagers from getting online in the middle of the night.
Would you recommend Google Family vs Virgin?
Ben
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Hi Ben, 

I've not personally set up access restrictions myself on a Virgin hub or used the Google application but I know that I've had a number of customers say that the Google application is really straight forward to use to allow you to stop access to devices. 

Obviously being an employee of Virgin I can't really give a recommendation to use a third party application but it certainly appears to be well reviewed! 

Obviously turning the modem off is another way to achieve this but we don't recommend it as the modems will tend to update themselves overnight and if they are turned off, it can cause issues! 

I hope this helps! 

Ed 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person