Menu
Reply
drjock
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
609 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

well new customer and not getting what i pay for

ok so out of the box hub 3 plgged in nice n tight using the little provided spanner blah blah it took around 5 mins to load up all lights green so i connected to it and didt a ookla test as you do.... speds were great 200+mb/s witch is my pack i jumped into a game and after like a few mins it was laggy and **bleep** so i did another test and speeds have gone from 200+ to less than 2mb/s.... sorry if this been posted else where but i been scouring the forums and google for fixes and even rang virgin and they dunno whats up no issues in my area etc .... each time router been reset  by power or reset hole itl hold 200+mb/s for a minuite if its lucky then right back to between 1.5 and 2mb/s

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
579 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

On ethernet cable or wifi connection?

If wifi connect a computer/laptop by cat5e/6/7 ethernet cable and see how that performs

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
drjock
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
573 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

either or it just hold 200+ for a min or so then drops to below 2 ive tryed disabling wifi and using modem mode with the cat 6 ethernet that virgin provided same doo there i reset it let it load run a speed test when i can itl say 200+ then 1-2 mins later another speed test and bang down to between 1.5 and 2 mb/s iv tryed literally every hot fix every ideas on every other post iv read haha
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
554 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

You haven't actually said, but is it just speed fluctuations or do you see total disconnections on both ethernet and wifi too?

Try this simple fix first and if it doesn't help then post up all the Hub data in the Upstream & Downstream channel pages and the Net work logs.

____________________________________
First switch the Hub off for 5 minutes AND unplug it from the mains. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure they are in correctly. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box. Then switch it on again and leave 5 minutes

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first ! Disconnect any ethernet cables from the Hub, and then with the Hub still "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool or similar "thin thing" and hold it firmly for at least 60 seconds, release the pin, leave for 10’ to stabilise - dont manually switch it off at any time.

Then, if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
drjock
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
549 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

its basically the speed drop from 200+ to <2 Mb/s i will aess router and provide up and down infos just sorting the kids dinner out haha but yeah i tried all ur basic fixes pinhole reset etcc modem mode blah blah no kinks in wires outside box is ok etccc.... will provide the info you requested shortly
0 Kudos
Reply
drjock
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
519 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 331000000 -2 38 256 qam 25
2 203000000 -0.7 38 256 qam 9
3 211000000 -1 38 256 qam 10
4 219000000 -1.2 38 256 qam 11
5 227000000 -1.2 38 256 qam 12
6 235000000 -1.2 38 256 qam 13
7 243000000 -1.5 38 256 qam 14
8 251000000 -1.7 38 256 qam 15
9 259000000 -1.9 38 256 qam 16
10 267000000 -2 38 256 qam 17
11 275000000 -1.9 38 256 qam 18
12 283000000 -1.7 38 256 qam 19
13 291000000 -1.2 38 256 qam 20
14 299000000 -0.2 38 256 qam 21
15 307000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 22
16 315000000 -1.4 38 256 qam 23
17 323000000 -1.7 38 256 qam 24
18 339000000 -2.4 38 256 qam 26
19 347000000 -2.5 38 256 qam 27
20 355000000 -2.7 38 256 qam 28
21 363000000 -3 38 256 qam 29
22 371000000 -3 38 256 qam 30
23 379000000 -3.2 38 256 qam 31
24 387000000 -3.2 38 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 5 0
2 Locked 38.9 4 0
3 Locked 38.9 6 0
4 Locked 38.9 6 0
5 Locked 38.9 6 0
6 Locked 38.9 7 0
7 Locked 38.9 5 0
8 Locked 38.9 5 0
9 Locked 38.6 5 0
10 Locked 38.6 6 0
11 Locked 38.9 6 0
12 Locked 38.9 5 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 38.9 4 0
15 Locked 40.3 19 0
16 Locked 38.6 17 0
17 Locked 38.6 7 0
18 Locked 38.9 0 0
19 Locked 38.9 5 0
20 Locked 38.9 4 0
21 Locked 38.9 6 0
22 Locked 38.9 7 0
23 Locked 38.9 4 0
24 Locked 38.6 0 0






Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46199966 48.8 5120 64 qam 1
2 25800000 47.3 5120 64 qam 4
3 32600034 48.8 5120 64 qam 3
4 39399954 48.8 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0




Refresh data
Network Log
Time Priority Description
18/12/2020 17:43:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2020 17:43:41 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2020 08:44:56 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 21:17:54 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 21:17:29 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 20:16:21 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:50:9 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:50:8 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:50:8 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:53 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:20 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:16 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:16 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:15 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:15 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:15 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:45:14 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 14:13:27 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 14:13:27 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
516 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

Nothing leaping out there. post the link to the BQM as soon as you have some sensible data - 12-24h and also the network logs that cover the same period.

But if you are not seeing dropouts on ethernet connections (which I think you are saying ?) and it may just be a wifi issue, then it probably wont be evident on the BQM.

It might be an issue with the wifi electronics on the Hub3 that needs swapping. Or if you have your own wifi router put the Hub into modem mode and put that router on and see how it performs on that wifi.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
drjock
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
514 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

no drop outs over wifi or ethernet its the simple fact it aint maintaining 200Mb/s it drops to <2Mbs after 2 mins of rebooting the router theyve booked me and engineer to come look at my lines blah blah because it seriously doing my napper in
0 Kudos
Reply
Amilya
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
434 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: well new customer and not getting what i pay for

World of Warcraft by any chance?

0 Kudos
Reply