Menu
Reply
mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
659 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

terrible upload speed

Hi - I understand that speeds will be slower at the moment with more people using the network, but the upload speed is just shocking. I wanted to check there was nothing else wrong. We tried to facetime last night and it was awful. I had to disconnect and use 4G which was far better. We're on a 100mbps connection.

I've done speed tests through the day (hard wired directly to the Hub 3.0). It's been as low as 0.4mbps upload and 16mbps download. Currently it's showing 34.63 down and 1.23 up (on speedtest.net)

PS) I have switched the router on and off multiple times which hasn't helped at all. 

EDIT: I tried to upload screenshots, but that's not working.... so here's the raw data. Hopefully you can make sense of it!

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
298750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32599848
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

129875000012.638256 qam21
225075000011.438256 qam15
325875000011.638256 qam16
426675000011.938256 qam17
527475000012.438256 qam18
628275000012.440256 qam19
729075000012.839256 qam20
830675000013.340256 qam22
93147500001340256 qam23
1032275000013.338256 qam24
1133075000012.938256 qam25
1237875000013.438256 qam26
1338675000012.938256 qam27
143947500001338256 qam28
1540275000013.138256 qam29
1641075000013.440256 qam30
174187500001338256 qam31
1842675000013.538256 qam32
1943475000013.438256 qam33
204427500001438256 qam34
214507500001440256 qam35
2245875000014.340256 qam36
234667500001438256 qam37
2447475000014.140256 qam38

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9250
2Locked38.9370
3Locked38.9200
4Locked38.9320
5Locked38.9220
6Locked40.3310
7Locked39.3260
8Locked40.3210
9Locked40.3270
10Locked38.9400
11Locked38.9290
12Locked38.9260
13Locked38.9500
14Locked38.9390
15Locked38.9420
16Locked40.3470
17Locked38.9280
18Locked38.9450
19Locked38.9430
20Locked38.9350
21Locked40.3650
22Locked40.3430
23Locked38.9480
24Locked40.3430

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1325998484.125512016 qam3
2536999844.1512064 qam4
3461999904.1512016 qam1
4394000644.125512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
StormW4tch3r
  • 459
  • 10
  • 35
Superfast
643 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

Looks like the Power (dBmV) is out of spec, should be around -6 +8

0 Kudos
Reply
mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
591 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

Hi - thanks for the reply. What does this mean? Is it something I can fix from here or is it worth me trying to get through to an engineer? 

Result from this morning's test: https://www.speedtest.net/result/9207159629 😞

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
DarkBahamut
  • 619
  • 11
  • 54
Fibre optic
580 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

IMHO, while your download levels are out of spec, they are not your issue. People so blindly look at the RX levels but you can also see downlink SNR is good and error counts are very low. Signs the downlink is healthy. If it was the only thing of concern that might be a worry, but it isn't.

The uplink has 3 channels at reduced modulation, an indication of a noise/SNR issue on your upstreams. SNR issues and depressed uplink speeds will harm the downlink speeds also. From the logs this to me is the main issue at play here.

You need an engineer from VM to look a those issues. They won't need to visit your property to fix an uplink issue as that's more area related. They'll probably want to visit you if they want to adjust the downlink levels too.

mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
569 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

Thank you for explaining that. I will try to get through to the support and request an engineer. Thank you 🙂 

(I am currently uploading a 12mb file.... eta 8 minutes. Can't work like this!) 

0 Kudos
Reply
mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
548 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

This is ridiculous now. I am struggling to work at all on this connection.

0.16mbps upload. https://www.speedtest.net/result/9208546470

Are there any engineers on the message boards who could take a look at Area 20? (SK7 2). I have been waiting all day for a reply on live chat. I understand it's busy, so I'm happy to wait... just hoping there's someone here who might be able to help? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Kippies
  • 12.44K
  • 859
  • 3.72K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
537 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

You need an engineer visit- Ill flag to staff for you.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
528 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

Thank you!
0 Kudos
Reply
james_bp
  • 42
  • 6
  • 11
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
521 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

please go through to our webchat team

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/contactus/experiencing-an-issue

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
mfacer
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
517 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: terrible upload speed

Hi - thanks. I have been trying that today (a few times). I'm on again, waiting for someone to pick up the request. How long is it normally taking to answer at the moment? Thanks
0 Kudos
Reply