Menu
Reply
broadbandslow12
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
608 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

speedtest results are ok but actual speed are poor

recently upgraded to 600 meg and I am get this speed on speedtests however when trying to stream video or music there is buffering.

downloading internet files or games rarely reaches above 1mb,I have a hardwired connection to the hub3.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
549 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed are poor

Most speed tests are short duration, so possibly there's an intermittent fault that becomes noticeable when connected for any length of time.  WHilst I don't know if it will show anything, I'd suggest starting off by connecting to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.  Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

If that shows nothing we can move onto other possible causes.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
broadbandslow12
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
540 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed are poor

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1138750000740256 qam1
21467500006.640256 qam2
31547500006.640256 qam3
41627500006.540256 qam4
51707500006.640256 qam5
61787500006.540256 qam6
71867500006.540256 qam7
81947500006.340256 qam8
92027500004.538256 qam9
10210750000038256 qam10
112187500001.938256 qam11
12226750000440256 qam12
132347500004.840256 qam13
142427500005.340256 qam14
152507500005.540256 qam15
162587500005.940256 qam16
17266750000640256 qam17
18274750000640256 qam18
192827500005.940256 qam19
202907500005.940256 qam20
212987500006.140256 qam21
223067500006.340256 qam22
233147500006.140256 qam23
24322750000640256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.923810
2Locked40.920880
3Locked40.915870
4Locked40.912710
5Locked40.910550
6Locked40.98600
7Locked40.98120
8Locked40.3109823
9Locked38.9228711
10Locked38.9163030
11Locked38.962900
12Locked40.38750
13Locked40.95280
14Locked40.93950
15Locked40.93620
16Locked40.33510
17Locked40.93280
18Locked40.33160
19Locked40.93120
20Locked40.93040
21Locked40.92600
22Locked40.93030
23Locked40.92460
24Locked40.92520
0 Kudos
Reply
broadbandslow12
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
538 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed are poor

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370001046.8512064 qam1
23940000046.5512064 qam3
33260000046.3512064 qam4
44620000046.8512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0080
2ATDMA0040
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
broadbandslow12
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
536 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed is poor

07/06/2021 04:35:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2021 15:18:36noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2021 07:16:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2021 03:37:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 17:47:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 16:25:44noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2021 04:16:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2021 15:37:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2021 23:11:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 03:37:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 16:02:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 15:37:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 10:49:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2021 22:30:42noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2021 22:30:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2021 02:16:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/05/2021 17:20:18ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2021 16:47:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2021 09:52:41noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
526 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed is poor

There's a lot of T3 timeouts which then lead to downstream problems!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
525 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed is poor

Not to mention that the downstream power levels are all over the shop, and will prevent reliable operation.  I'll mark this for the staff to advise and arrange a visit if that's needed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
521 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed is poor

Aye - Channels 10 and 11 are way out of line with the rest!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Katie_WT
  • 5.03K
  • 306
  • 574
Forum Team
Forum Team
515 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: speedtest results are ok but actual speed is poor

Hi there @broadbandslow12

 

Welcome to our community and thanks so much for your first post - I am sorry that you seem to be having some speed issues at the moment. We do appreciate you posting some of your stats for us. I have also managed to locate your account from your forum information and have taken a closer look at this end too.

 

We can see that it has been around 3 weeks since your Hub was rebooted. Are you able to do that for us today so we can refresh the data and see if those timeouts have cleared? 

 

Other than that, the levels at this end are looking to be within spec so we'd like to see how things are looking once everything has been rebooted. Pop back once you have done that and we'll take another look

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply