Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 50
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
456 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

speed issue

Hi can anyone help please i am having constant slow speed issues i am on 500mps but getting like 15mbps if im lucky i cant check speed on Ethernet cable as my laptop doesn't have Ethernet port 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 30.4K
  • 1.52K
  • 5.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
444 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

get yourself aa USB ethernet adapter to test wired
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rankie-Network-Adapter-Gigabit-Black/dp/B010SEARPU/ref=sr_1_5?crid=1MRI38BD...

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 50
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
440 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

these are the router stats i don't understand what they mean 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
331000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32599983
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
13310000005.640256 qam25
21870000005.640256 qam7
31950000005.840256 qam8
42030000005.640256 qam9
52110000005.440256 qam10
62190000005.340256 qam11
72270000005.140256 qam12
82350000005.140256 qam13
92430000005.340256 qam14
102510000005.440256 qam15
112590000005.140256 qam16
12267000000540256 qam17
13275000000540256 qam18
142830000005.340256 qam19
152910000005.340256 qam20
162990000005.540256 qam21
173070000005.440256 qam22
183150000005.440256 qam23
193230000005.540256 qam24
203390000005.540256 qam26
213470000005.440256 qam27
223550000005.540256 qam28
233630000005.540256 qam29
243710000005.640256 qam30



Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3180
2Locked40.940
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.960
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.960
7Locked40.950
8Locked40.960
9Locked40.960
10Locked40.950
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.300
13Locked40.360
14Locked40.950
15Locked40.950
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.940
18Locked40.3180
19Locked40.3180
20Locked40.300
21Locked40.3120
22Locked40.960
23Locked40.950
24Locked40.900

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1325999834.825512064 qam5
2393999864.975512064 qam4
3461999964.975512064 qam3
4536999494.975512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.29K
  • 168
  • 303
Superfast
438 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

You need to split the 2.4 and 5Ghz bands into two SSIDs. You can then connect your device to the correct band to get the fastest speeds, not necessarily range, possible.

Access your router http://192.168.0.1/ (Enter the password on the base of the router, or whatever you've set it to previously).

Then navigate to Advanced Settings \ Wireless \ Security

Change the SSID for both bands to something like below (I added '_5G' and '_2G' respectively)

At the very bottom click 'Apply Changes'

Reconnect all your wireless devices to the relevant wireless network (If your device can 'see' the 5G SSID use it!)

Re-check your speed.

You will NOT get 500Mbps, even in the same room as the router, due to the limitations of most wireless devices, so don't expect it!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.29K
  • 168
  • 303
Superfast
436 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

There is nothing wrong with those stats, all within spec.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 50
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
435 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

i have tried that also and there was no difference in speed just it kept kicking me out of the 5g and not letting me back in so i reset the router again back o factory settings 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.29K
  • 168
  • 303
Superfast
432 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

We need a test on a wired ethernet connection to prove your connection is working as expected.

As I've said the technology for 500Mbps over wireless across a home is just not there yet, even with the latest Wifi 6 tech just being released.

The bandwidth that 500Mbps provides is designed to be shared across multiple devices.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 50
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
423 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

ok so even if a wired connection came back ok id have to put up with the 15-20mbps on wifi  makes no sensce to pay for 500mps if you ask me i understand you wont get the full 500mbps on wifi but i expect alot better than 15-20mbps 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.29K
  • 168
  • 303
Superfast
421 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

How many wireless devices are you using at home?

Do they all exhibit the same speed?

What are you using for testing?

How far away from the hub are you when testing?

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

We can see if there is anything in the router stats that point to a localised problem.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 50
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
407 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: speed issue

about 6 devices and the all get slightly different but none over 60mbps and im in the same room as the hub

0 Kudos
Reply