Menu
Reply
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
281 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

slow upload speed - cannot work

In Thames Ditton Surrey, I'm getting the following service from my 100/10Mbps subscription:

peter993_0-1612787417736.png

Hub3 status

peter993_1-1612787669750.png

Upload speed is 10Mbps at 3am, but during day <0.2 Mbps.

There is no Openreach/BT/Sky ports here to change to, so I am stuck with VM.  I see the infrastructure was not designed for everyone working from home, but the only way I have been able to work (Teams meetings, etc) is by using my mobile for voice and VM for viewing presentations.  I am unable to present in meetings, and I am presenter frequently.  There's no solution afaik. Does anyone know if VM are able to upgrade their infrastructure quickly or are they just waiting for the demand to reduce when we come out of lockdown?

Thanks. Peter

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 673
  • 63
  • 86
Superfast
265 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

Hard to know if it's a fault or over utilisation until you give us some more information.

Can you please upload your router stats

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on:

Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again. You can use more than one post for each item if needed.

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here asap.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
248 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

120275000011.839256 qam9
221075000011.838256 qam10
321875000012.138256 qam11
422675000012.438256 qam12
523475000012.538256 qam13
624275000012.840256 qam14
72507500001340256 qam15
825875000013.540256 qam16
926675000013.838256 qam17
1027475000013.640256 qam18
1128275000014.540256 qam19
1229075000014.538256 qam20
1329875000014.938256 qam21
1430675000015.538256 qam22
1531475000015.540256 qam23
1632275000015.138256 qam24
1733075000014.538256 qam25
183707500001540256 qam26
1937875000015.640256 qam27
2038675000015.340256 qam28
2139475000014.940256 qam29
2240275000015.440256 qam30
234107500001540256 qam31
244187500001538256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked39.81020
2Locked38.91570
3Locked38.9870
4Locked38.91450
5Locked38.92580
6Locked40.31140
7Locked40.31840
8Locked40.31290
9Locked38.91280
10Locked40.3950
11Locked40.3610
12Locked38.9930
13Locked38.9910
14Locked38.91430
15Locked40.31280
16Locked38.9780
17Locked38.92730
18Locked40.31050
19Locked40.3280
20Locked40.3490
21Locked40.31430
22Locked40.3420
23Locked40.9710
24Locked38.9970

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000036.5512064 qam1
24620000039.3512064 qam3
33940000039512064 qam4
45370000039512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0040
2ATDMA0050
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0080

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/370395a711e7a7850c7be8cd8c668dd5708f647d

 

Any help appreciated.

Peter

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 673
  • 63
  • 86
Superfast
242 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

The power levels on the download streams are far too high and the power levels on your upload streams are too low my friend.

You will need an engineer visit to put these right. Best to ring VM on or just after 8am or alternatively you can wait here for a Virgin staff member to pick it up, typically between 5-10 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later depending on how busy they are.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
231 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/08b63329dfa8207749d2849b5224ecc85ee6f1b4-08-02-2021
0 Kudos
Reply
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
227 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

Thank you, I will try to arrange an engineer visit.

Peter

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 673
  • 63
  • 86
Superfast
223 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

Your BQM is not looking good so far my friend but this could be a reflection of a line fault or the high power levels coming into the router reflecting on the BQM. Until you get an engineer out to sort the problem you won't get a true reading on the graph, just hoping it's not another case of over utilisation but that's far too early to tell.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
218 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

Can I ask, how can I phone and talk to a VM engineer about this instead of customer services?  Is the only way by phoning 150?

Peter

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 673
  • 63
  • 86
Superfast
216 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

I'm afraid customer services is your only option, an engineer will be needed to sort things out, so if you get one booked for a visit it's half the battle 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
peter993
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
194 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow upload speed - cannot work

For interest, I phone VM and there is an outage in the area, and they said engineers were there and it would be fixed by 9am tomorrow.

I sincerely hope they can fix it, so I can get back to work.

Peter

0 Kudos
Reply