Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
339 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

m500 varying speeds

Hi,

I have been on the vvip packaged for over a year until a couple of months ago couldnt complain about the speed as was maxing out the connection dont know whats happened. logs from router below, upstream is always good. MAC as been removed. I have tried rebooting router still same.

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14750000003.940256 qam31
21950000000.238256 qam8
3203000000038256 qam9
4211000000038256 qam10
5219000000038256 qam11
62270000000.238256 qam12
7235000000038256 qam13
8243000000038256 qam14
92510000000.538256 qam15
102590000000.738256 qam16
11267000000138256 qam17
122750000001.238256 qam18
132830000001.538256 qam19
142910000001.738256 qam20
152990000002.238256 qam21
163070000002.238256 qam22
173150000002.440256 qam23
183230000002.740256 qam24
194270000003.538256 qam25
204350000003.538256 qam26
214430000003.538256 qam27
224510000003.738256 qam28
234590000003.938256 qam29
24467000000438256 qam30


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3451361472878
2Locked38.91242888465477
3Locked38.91516969477882
4Locked38.61991935518036
5Locked38.62185164564939
6Locked38.61824729545730
7Locked38.91000848492904
8Locked38.6795429456891
9Locked38.9743566470813
10Locked38.61014291531531
11Locked38.91250058590919
12Locked38.91216488589316
13Locked38.9862932545280
14Locked38.9570323496626
15Locked38.6503772473123
16Locked38.9484787500478
17Locked40.3500490537273
18Locked40.9470623555749
19Locked38.9411888501529
20Locked38.9447090505387
21Locked38.9462772495641
22Locked38.9476908507130
23Locked38.9466781511649
24Locked38.9477624496868

 

 
 
Network LogTime Priority Description
24/06/2020 03:12:43noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-Vcb573b2ee9a9587e.cm modified;CM-
24/06/2020 03:12:43ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
23/06/2020 14:43:52ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-
23/06/2020 07:21:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;
23/06/2020 07:21:6criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
23/06/2020 07:21:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-
23/06/2020 07:21:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-
23/06/2020 07:17:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;
23/06/2020 07:17:42criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-
23/06/2020 07:17:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;
23/06/2020 07:17:30criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
23/06/2020 07:16:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-
23/06/2020 07:16:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
23/06/2020 07:11:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-
23/06/2020 07:11:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
23/06/2020 07:11:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;
23/06/2020 07:11:0criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
23/06/2020 07:10:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;
23/06/2020 07:10:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-
23/06/2020 07:10:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 6
  • 11
On our wavelength
333 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

Signals look all good, you haven’t posted what the upstream levels are for it tho.

If you go to WiFi settings in the settings page there’s a thing called smart WiFi there. Basically the modem gets 500 then it shares it out to your devices hence why your seeing different results, you can turn this off to get a faster speed on the test. Also make sure 5ghz is set to 20/40/80 

If I've helped in any way, please give me Kudos and mark my response as a helpful answer!

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how and you might just get it!

I am a serving Field Technician at Virgin however all responses on here are based on my experiences in the field alone and my own equipment at home and should be taken as such
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.14K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
326 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

Well they look “OK” other than the high pre and post RS errors...

When was the hub last rebooted?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
319 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

sorry about that missed the the upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.6512064 qam6
2258000004.5512064 qam8
3326000004.55512064 qam7
4462000004.7512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
318 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

hub was last rebooted a couple of days ago done that a few times over the last few weeks as the internet drops out.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
317 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

forgot to say I only use a wired connection as I find thats the best way to max the connection.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.25K
  • 135
  • 191
Forum Team
Forum Team
132 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

Thank you for your post Nuttyslack.

 

Can we please confirm if this was a pin hole reset? If not, could you run through one of these and let us know how this goes?

 

Thanks, Emily.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
67 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 varying speeds

hi Emily,

it wasnt a pin hole reset just turned the router on and off with the switch, all seems back to normal for now, it speed drops again I will post.

0 Kudos
Reply